Skip to Main Content

U.S. Colonial Laws: Rhode Island

This guide lists sources of laws of the original thirteen colonies.

Available Online

Acts and laws, of His Majesty's colony of Rhode-Island, and Providence-Plantations, in New-England, in America (1745)
Full text in the Evans Early American Imprint Collection
Acts and Laws of the English Colony of Rhode-Island and Providence-plantations, in New-England, in America: Made and Passed Since the Revision in June, 1767 (1772)
Full text in Google Books
Acts and laws of the English colony of Rhode-Island and Providence-plantations, in New-England, in America: made and passed since the revision in June, 1767. Compard and cor. by the secretary (1772)
Full text in the HathiTrust Digital Library
Acts and laws of the English colony of Rhode-Island and Providence-Plantations, in New-England, in America: made and passed since the revision in June, 1767. Compared and corrected by the Secretary. (1772)
Full text in the HathiTrust Digital Library
At the General Assembly of the Governor and Company of the English Colony of Rhode-Island, and Providence-Plantations, in New England, in America
Full text in the HathiTrust Digital Library
The Charter and the Acts and laws of His Majesties Colony of Rhode-Island, and Providence-Plantations in America, 1719 : a facsimile reprint
Full text in the HathiTrust Digital Library
Index to the Acts & Resolves of Rhode Island 1758-1899
Full text from the Rhode Island Department of State
NOTE: This is the full text of the index to the Acts and Resolves and not the full text of the Acts and Resolves
Laws and Acts of Her Majesties Colony of Rhode Island: And Providence-Plantations Made from the First Settlement in 1636 to 1705
Full text in Google Books
Records of the Colony of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, in New England, Vol. 1, 1636-1663
Full text in the Internet Archive
Records of the Colony of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, in New England, Vol. 2, 1664-1677
Full text in the Internet Archive
Records of the Colony of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, in New England, Vol. 3, 1678-1706
Full text in the Internet Archive
Records of the Colony of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, in New England, Vol. 4, 1707-1740
Full text in the Internet Archive
Records of the colony of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, in New England, Vol. 5, 1741-1756
Full text in the Internet Archive
Records of the Colony of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, in New England, Vol. 6, 1757-1769
Full text in the HathiTrust Digital Archive
Records of the Colony of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, in New England, Vol. 7, 1770-1776
Full text in the Internet Archive
Records of the Colony of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, in New England: 1707-1740 (Vol. 4)
Full text at Google Books
Records of the Colony of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, in New England: 1741-1756 (Vol. 5)
Full text at Google Books
Records of the Colony of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, in New England: 1757-1769 (Vol. 6)
Full text at Google Books
[Act and resolves]. At the general assembly of the governor and company of the English colony of Rhode-Island and Providence plantations in New-England in America ... [1747-June 1776]
Full text in the HathiTrust Digital Library
[Acts and resolves] At the General Assembly of the governor and company of the English colony of Rhode-Island and Providence Plantations in New-England in America, begun and held at South-Kingstown within and for said colony, on the last Wednesday in Octo
Full text in the HathiTrust Digital Library
[The Charter and the Acts and laws of His Majesties Colony of Rhode-Island, and Prividence-Plantations in America, 1719
Full text in the Internet Archive

Available to Borrow from OhioLINK

The earliest acts and laws of the colony of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, 1647-1719
Publication Date: 1977
Records of the colony of Rhode Island and Providence plantations, in New England.
Publication Date: 1856-1865
Records of the Colony of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations in New England
Publication Date: 1856-1865 [Reprinted 1968]