Chat With Us
Avalon Project
The Avalon Project from Yale University is a good source for colonial charters and a small selection of other colonial laws.
Records of the American Colonies
- Records of the American ColoniesThis HathiTrust collection gathers together volumes with legislation, court documents, correspondence, and other documents from the original thirteen colonies.
Overview
This research guide pulls together various sources for laws of the original thirteen colonies.
Colonial laws may be available in tangible formats:
- The BGSU Libraries own some paper sources for colonial laws.
- Other OhioLINK libraries own book or microfilm copies of colonial laws that may be borrowed by BGSU students, faculty, and staff.
Colonial laws may also be available on the Internet:
- Some states have compiled colonial laws into a database
- Digitized books may be available full text from the HathiTrust Digital Library, the Internet Archives, Google Books or another source
General Sources
- The Federal and state constitutions, colonial charters, and other organic laws of the state, territories, and colonies now or heretofore forming the United States of America / compiled and edited under the act of Congress of June 30, 1906 byCall Number: GOV DOCS Y 1.1/2:5190-196Publication Date: 1909
- The Federal and state constitutions, colonial charters, and other organic laws of the state, territories, and colonies now or heretofore forming the United States of America / compiled and edited under the act of Congress of June 30, 1906 by Francis NewtoFull text at the Internet Archive: (various volumes)
- The federal and state constitutions, colonial charters, and other organic laws of the state, territories, and colonies now or hertofore forming the United States of America. Comp. and ed. under the act of Congress of June 30, 1906, by Francis Newton ThorpFull text at the HathiTrust Digital Library: Vols. 1-7 of 7 vols.
- The federal and state constitutions, colonial charters, and other organic laws of the United States, by Benjamin Perley PooreFull text at the Internet Archive (various volumes)
- The federal and state constitutions, colonial charters, and other organic laws of the United States, by Benjamin Perley Poore (1877)Full text in the HathiTrust Digital Library: Vols. 1-2 of 2 vols.
- The federal and state constitutions, colonial charters, and other organic laws of the United States ... Comp. under an order of the United States Senate by Benjamin: Perley Poore (1878)Full text in the HathiTrust Digital Library: Vols. 1-2 of 2 vols.
- The Federal and State constitutions : colonial charters, and other organic laws of the states, territories, and colonies now or heretofore forming the United States of America. / Compiled and edited under the act of Congress of June 30, 1906, by Francis NFull text at the HathiTrust Digital Library: vols. 1-3, 6 of 7 vols.
