Skip to Main Content

U.S. Colonial Laws: New Jersey

This guide lists sources of laws of the original thirteen colonies.

Available Full Text Online

New Jersey Historical Laws, Constitutions, and Charters
The New Jersey State Library has gathered together digitized versions of all of the historical New Jersey volumes of laws, treaties, and charters.
The acts of the General assembly of the province of New-Jersey, from the time of the surrender of the government in the second year of the reign of Queen Anne, to this present time, being the twenty fifth year of the reign of King George the Second. Colle
Full text in the HathiTrust Digital Library
The acts of the General assembly of the province of New-Jersey, from the year 1753, being the twenty-sixth of the reign of King George the Second, where the first volume ends, to the year 1761, being the first of King George the Third. With proper tables;
Full text in the HathiTrust Digital Library
Volume 2
Acts of the General Assembly of the Province of New-Jersey : from the surrender of the government to Queen Anne, on the 17th day of April, in the year of our Lord 1702, to the 14th day of January 1776. To which is annexed, the ordinance for regulating and
Full text in the HathiTrust Digital Library
The Acts of the General Assembly of the Province of New-Jersey: From the Year 1753, Being the Twenty-sixth of the Reign of King George the Second, where the First Volume Ends, to the Year 1761, Being the First of King George the Third. With Proper Tables;
Full text in Google Books
Index of colonial and state laws between the year 1663 and 1877 inclusive / by John Hood
Full text of the index in the HathiTrust Digital Library. This may be helpful in identifying a particular law, but the full text of the law isn't in this document.
Index of colonial and state laws of New Jersey, between the years 1663 and 1903 inclusive. By John Hood, 1905
Full text of the index is available in the HathiTrust Digital Library. This is only an index and doesn't include the full text of the laws.

Available to Borrow from OhioLINK Libraries

The earliest printed laws of New Jersey, 1703-1722 / with an editorial note by John D. Cushing
Publication Date: 1978
Laws of the Royal Colony of New Jersey, 1746-1760 / compiled by Bernard Bush
Publication Date: 1980
The laws of the Royal Colony of New Jersey, 1760-1769 / compiled by Bernard Bush
Publication Date: 1982
Laws of the Royal Colony of New Jersey / compiled with an introduction by Bernard Bush [1703-1775]
Publication Date: 1977-1986