Skip to Main Content

U.S. Colonial Laws: Massachusetts

This guide lists sources of laws of the original thirteen colonies.

Available Online

Act and Resolves 1692-1780
Searchable database from the State Library of Massachusetts
Acts and laws, of His Majesties province of the Massachusetts-Bay, in New-England
Full text in the Evans Early American Imprint Collection
Acts and Laws, Of His Majesty's Province of the Massachusetts-Bay in New-England.
Full text in the HathiTrust Digital Library
Acts and resolves, public and private, of the province of massachusetts Bay
NOTE: Only v. 13, 1741-1745
Full text in the HathiTrust Digital Library
The acts and resolves, public and private, of the province of the Massachusetts Bay, to which are prefixed the charters of the province. With historical and explanatory notes, and an appendix. Boston, Wright & Potter, Printers to the State, 1869-1922. 2
Full text in the Internet Archive
The acts and resolves, public and private, of the province of the Massachusetts Bay : to which are prefixed the charters of the province : with historical and explanatory notes, and an appendix., v. 1, 4-7, 9-21
Full text in the HathiTrust Digital Library
The charters and general laws of the colony and province of Massachusetts Bay
Full text in the Internet Archive
The charters and general laws of the Colony and Province of Massachusetts Bay, carefully collected from the publick records and ancient printed books, to which is added an appendix, tending to explain the spirit, progress and history of the jurisprudence
Full text in the HathiTrust Digital Library
The Charters and General Laws of the Colony and Province of Massachusetts Bay: Carefully Collected from the Publick Records and Ancient Printed Books. To which is Added an Appendix, Tending to Explain the Spirit, Progress and History of the Jurisprudence
Full test in Google Books
The colonial laws of Massachusetts. Reprinted from the edition of 1672, with the supplements through 1686. Published by order of the City council of Boston, under the supervision of William H. Whitmore, record commissioner. Containing a new and complete i
Full text in the HathiTrust Digital Library
The colonial laws of Massachusetts : reprinted from the edition of 1672 with the supplements through 1686 : containing also a bibliographical preface and introduction treating of all the printed laws from 1649 to 1686 : together with the Body of Liberties
Full text in the HathiTrust Digital Library
Colonial Laws of Massachusetts Reprinted from the Edition of 1660, with the Supplements to 1672 Containing Also the Body of Liberties of 1641.
Full text in the Internet Archive
The compact with the charter and laws of the colony of New Plymouth : together with the charter of the Council at Plymouth, and an appendix, containing the Articles of Confederation of the United Colonies of New England, and other valuable documents / pub
Full text in the HathiTrust Digital Library
The compact with the charter and laws of the colony of New Plymouth : together with the charter of the Council at Plymouth, and an appendix, containing the Articles of confederation of the United colonies of New England, and other valuable documents : Pub
Full text in the HathiTrust Digital Library
Early State Records - Massachusetts, Laws (Law Library Microform Consortium)

Available to Borrow from OhioLINK

Acts and laws of His Majesties province of the Massachusetts-Bay, in New-England
Publication Date: 1699
NOTE: Microfilm version
The acts and resolves, public and private, of the province of the Massachusetts bay: to which are prefixed the charters of the province. With historical and explanatory notes, and an appendix. Published under chapter 87 of the Resolves of the General cour
Publication Date: 1869-1922
The book of the general lauues and libertyes concerning the inhabitants of the Massachusets [microform] : collected out of the records of the General Court for the several years wherin they were made and established, and now revised by the same Court and
Publication Date: 1648
The book of the general lavves and libertyes concerning the inhabitants of the Massachusets [microform] : collected out of the records of the General Court, for the several years wherin they were made and established, and now revised by the same Court, an
Publication Date: 1660
NOTE: Microfilm version
The book of the general lawes and libertyes concerning the inhabitants of the Massachusets : reproduced in facsimile from the unique 1648 edition in the Huntington Library by edited with an introd. by Thomas G. Barnes
Publication Date: 1975
The colonial laws of Massachusetts. Reprinted from the edition of 1660, with the supplements to 1672. Containing also, the Body of liberties of 1641. Pub. by order of the City council of Boston, under the supervision of William H. Whitmore, record commiss
Publication Date: 1889
The compact with the charter and laws of the colony of New Plymouth: together with the charter of the Council at Plymouth, and an appendix, containing the Articles of confederation of the United colonies of New England, and other valuable documents. Publi
Publication Date: 1836
The general laws and liberties of the Massachusets colony
Publication Date: 1672
NOTE: Microfilm version
The general laws and liberties of the Massachusets colony in New-England
Publication Date: 1675
NOTE: Microfilm version
The laws and liberties of Massachusetts, 1641-1691 : a facsimile edition, containing also Council orders and executive proclamations / compiled with an introd. by John D. Cushing
Publication Date: 1976
The laws and liberties of Massachusetts : reprinted from the copy of the 1648 edition in the Henry E. Huntington Library
Publication Date: 1982
The laws and liberties of Massachusetts : reprinted from the unique copy of the 1648 edition in the Henry E. Huntington Library
Publication Date: 1998
The laws of the Pilgrims
Publication Date: 1977
The laws of the Pilgrims : a facsimile edition of The book of the general laws of the inhabitants of the jurisdiction of New-Plimouth, 1672 & 1685
Publication Date: 1977
Massachusetts province laws, 1692-1699 / with an editorial note by John D. Cushing
Publication Date: 1978
Several laws and orders made at the General Court holden at Boston the twenty seventh of May, 1674
Publication Date: 1674
NOTE: Microfilm version