Resources
-
1980s Culture and Society This link opens in a new window1980s Culture and Society complies archival collections housed across the United States, United Kingdom, Australia, and Canada. The database includes zines, newspapers, ephemera, oral histories, films, photographs, and government records. Capturing diverse perspectives, materials produced by grassroots organizations and under-represented groups are presented alongside government records and mainstream media to showcase the key social, cultural, and political concerns of the decade.
-
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Index to articles, books and book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations and more dealing with topics in women's studies, men's studies and sexual diversity issues.
-
History Commons This link opens in a new window
The Accessible Archives collection within History Commons includes text primary sources from 18th and 19th century America, mainly newspapers, including the Pennsylvania Gazette, the Virginia Gazette, Godey's Lady's Book, Frederick Douglass Paper, a collection of South Carolina Newspapers, and a collection of African American newspapers
-
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
An open access collection of alternative press material.
-
Pew Research Center: Gender & LGBTQ+Research and publications by the Pew Research Center on topics related to gender and LGBTQ+ issues.
-
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 This link opens in a new window
A database of photographs, images, manuscripts, rare printed material documenting the music, politics, fashion and youth culture in America and Great Britain from 1950-1975.
-
Student Activism This link opens in a new window
Primary sources documenting the history of student organizing in the United States, including hundreds of items contributed by BGSU, in formats such as leaflets, fliers, newsletters, campaign materials, protest literature, clippings, periodicals, bulletins, letters, press releases, as well as meeting, demonstration, conference, and event documentation.
Topics include: Anti-apartheid divestiture, student involvement in the civil rights movement, Indians of All Tribes’ occupation of Alcatraz, Take-Back-the-Night anti-sexual assault activism, Vietnam War opposition and demilitarization activism, Women’s rights, LGBTQ+ rights, and more. -
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
An archival research resource comprising the full backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines.
-
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, books and book chapters, proceedings, research reports, dissertations and more on topics in women's studies and feminist research.
-
Women-Related Online PeriodicalsA list of select women's studies journals, zines, and other online periodicals. Last updated in 2020.
-
WordMothersA list of women's literary journals, magazines, and publications. Last updated in 2022.
-
WWD.com (Women's Wear Daily) This link opens in a new window
Access to current issues and online content of Women's Wear Daily magazine, plus back issues and web content going back to 1994.
-
Challenging Images of Women in the Media
by
Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9780739176986Publication Date: 2012-07-13Challenging Images of Women and the Media: Reinventing Women's Lives, edited by Theresa Carilli and Jane Campbell, collects fifteen articles addressing the status of women through an examination of depictions of women in the media. This in-depth study shows how mixed messages from the media muddle attempts at breaking the "glass screen," causing women to constantly question their role in global culture. With cake ads followed by diet commercials, the media's depiction of women is both confusing and contradictory. While more and more women have begun to contribute to the media as respected anchors, talk show hosts, and commentators, these portrayals are often counteracted by music videos and reality television shows such as Jersey Shore. This collection seeks to analyze these depictions and their effects on women and culture.
