Resources
- 1980s Culture and Society1980s Culture and Society complies archival collections housed across the United States, United Kingdom, Australia, and Canada. The database includes zines, newspapers, ephemera, oral histories, films, photographs, and government records. Capturing diverse perspectives, materials produced by grassroots organizations and under-represented groups are presented alongside government records and mainstream media to showcase the key social, cultural, and political concerns of the decade.
- African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
The full text of hundreds of U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states published by African Americans, dating from 1827 to 1998.
- Black Quotidian: Everyday History in African-American NewspapersIncludes newspaper clippings from African American newspapers in a searchable database.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
A database that searches the full text of newspapers, magazines and journals published by the ethnic, minority and native press of the United States.
- Frederick Douglass Newspapers, 1847 to 1874This collection from the Library of Congress presents newspapers edited by Frederick Douglass (1818-1895), the African American abolitionist who escaped slavery and became one of the most famous orators, authors, and journalists of the 19th century.
- Freedom ArchivesThis collection is comprised of position papers, monographs, newspapers and other publications from or about the Black Liberation Movement. Includes The Student Voice, The Movement Newspaper, Crossroads, Soulbook and a sub-collection filled with assorted writings.
- History Commons
The Accessible Archives collection within History Commons includes text primary sources from 18th and 19th century America, mainly newspapers, including the Pennsylvania Gazette, the Virginia Gazette, Godey's Lady's Book, Frederick Douglass Paper, a collection of South Carolina Newspapers, and a collection of African American newspapers
- Independent Voices
An open access collection of alternative press material.
- Pew Research Center: Black AmericansResearch & reports from the Pew Research Center related to Black Americans.
- Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
A database containing a wide range of primary materials on the subject of slavery worldwide, including judicial cases, slavery statutes, UNC Press titles, periodicals, and scholarly articles. It includes every statute passed by every U.S. colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
Double Negative by Call Number: P94.5.A372 U554 2018 and OnlineISBN: 9781478000419Publication Date: 2018-08-10From the antics of Flavor Flav on Flavor of Love to the brazen behavior of the women on Love & Hip Hop, so-called negative images of African Americans are a recurrent mainstay of contemporary American media representations. In Double Negative Racquel J. Gates examines the generative potential of such images, showing how some of the most disreputable representations of black people in popular media can strategically pose questions about blackness, black culture, and American society in ways that more respectable ones cannot. Rather than falling back on claims that negative portrayals hinder black progress, Gates demonstrates how reality shows such as Basketball Wives, comedians like Katt Williams, and movies like Coming to America play on "negative" images to take up questions of assimilation and upward mobility, provide a respite from the demands of respectability, and explore subversive ideas. By using negativity as a framework to illustrate these texts' social and political work as they reverberate across black culture, Gates opens up new lines of inquiry for black cultural studies.
