Resources
- 1980s Culture and Society1980s Culture and Society complies archival collections housed across the United States, United Kingdom, Australia, and Canada. The database includes zines, newspapers, ephemera, oral histories, films, photographs, and government records. Capturing diverse perspectives, materials produced by grassroots organizations and under-represented groups are presented alongside government records and mainstream media to showcase the key social, cultural, and political concerns of the decade.
- Digital Transgender ArchiveThe purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world.
- GLBT Historical Society: Digital CollectionsCollections include newspapers, video recordings, and oral histories.
- Independent Voices
An open access collection of alternative press material.
- LGBT Periodicals & Newspapers (Library of Congress)The Library of Congress research guide on LGBTQIA+ Resources includes a list of historical periodicals available online.
- LGBTQ+ Source
Indexing, abstracts and full text for journal, magazine, and newspaper articles on LGBTQ+ topics and issues.
- Pew Research Center: Gender & LGBTQ+Research and publications by the Pew Research Center on topics related to gender and LGBTQ+ issues.
- Student Activism
Primary sources documenting the history of student organizing in the United States, including hundreds of items contributed by BGSU, in formats such as leaflets, fliers, newsletters, campaign materials, protest literature, clippings, periodicals, bulletins, letters, press releases, as well as meeting, demonstration, conference, and event documentation.
Topics include: Anti-apartheid divestiture, student involvement in the civil rights movement, Indians of All Tribes’ occupation of Alcatraz, Take-Back-the-Night anti-sexual assault activism, Vietnam War opposition and demilitarization activism, Women’s rights, LGBTQ+ rights, and more.
- Washington Blade ArchivesWashington Blade was one of the first LGBT news sources produced in the United States. The Archives provide coverage from 1969-2008. Stories from 2009-present can be found on the website.
Queer Media ImagesCall Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9780739180280Publication Date: 2013-05-16Queer Media Images: LGBT Perspectives presents fifteen chapters that address how the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered communities are depicted in the media. This collection focuses on how the LGBT community has been silenced or given voice through the media. Through a study of queer media images, this book scrutinizes LGBT media representations and how these representations contribute to a dialogue about civil rights for this marginalized community.
