Resources
- 1980s Culture and Society1980s Culture and Society complies archival collections housed across the United States, United Kingdom, Australia, and Canada. The database includes zines, newspapers, ephemera, oral histories, films, photographs, and government records. Capturing diverse perspectives, materials produced by grassroots organizations and under-represented groups are presented alongside government records and mainstream media to showcase the key social, cultural, and political concerns of the decade.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North AmericaAn index covering all aspects of culture, history, and life of Indigenous peoples in North America.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search and view the full text of hundreds of digitized historical newspapers from 42 states, with titles dating from 1789-1963, provided free by the Library of Congress.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
A database that searches the full text of newspapers, magazines and journals published by the ethnic, minority and native press of the United States.
- Independent Voices
An open access collection of alternative press material.
- Indigenous Journalists AssociationThe Indigenous Journalists Association serves more than 850 members, including media professionals working in Indigenous, freelance, independent, and mainstream news outlets, as well as academia and students covering Indigenous communities and representing Indigenous peoples from across the world.
- National Native NewsNational Native News is a radio broadcast with coverage on Native American and Indigenous Communities.
- Native American Indians, 1645-1819
Native American Indians, 1645-1819, is a collection of over 1,600 publications that reveal the history and culture of Native America in the colonial era. The collection includes treaties, letters, tribal histories, missionary reports, captivity narratives, accounts of battles, trading records, maps, books on languages and grammar, and more. These documents are essential sources for researchers and students of Native American studies, early American history, and other disciplines. The collection also features text analysis tools, author biographies, and suggested search paths for browsing and discovery. With these tools, users can explore the rich and diverse heritage of Native America in new and innovative ways.
- Native American Tribal Histories, 1813-1880
This digital collection contains comprehensive records of the interactions between Indigenous people and American Territorial officials, as well as descriptions of Native American cultures during a period of great change. Native American Tribal Histories, 1813-1880, is an essential resource for anyone studying Native American history, culture, and law. This collection is based on the Bureau of Indian Affairs Field Office and Central Office Records at the American National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). It covers many Native tribes from different regions of the United States, such as Apache, Arapaho, Blackfeet, Cherokee, Chippewa, Choctaw, Creek, Kickapoo, Kiowa, Klamath, Lummi, Mandan, Mojave, Navajo, Nez Perce, Osage, Potawatomi, Pueblo, Seminole, Sioux, Ute and more. Users can search, browse and filter documents by territory, date, tribe, topic, document type and more using a customized user interface.
- Student Activism
Primary sources documenting the history of student organizing in the United States, including hundreds of items contributed by BGSU, in formats such as leaflets, fliers, newsletters, campaign materials, protest literature, clippings, periodicals, bulletins, letters, press releases, as well as meeting, demonstration, conference, and event documentation.
Topics include: Anti-apartheid divestiture, student involvement in the civil rights movement, Indians of All Tribes’ occupation of Alcatraz, Take-Back-the-Night anti-sexual assault activism, Vietnam War opposition and demilitarization activism, Women’s rights, LGBTQ+ rights, and more.
- WWW Virtual Library: Index of Native American MediaList of online resources on Native Americans such as newspapers, magazines, and photography exhibits.
Media Images and Representations by Call Number: P94.5.I53 K56 2006ISBN: 0791079686Publication Date: 2005-09-30Explore media coverage of Native Americans in print and television journalism, in films and television, in Native American media outlets, and on the Internet. This book also examines use of Native Americans as mascots.
