Resources
- Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection, Series 2
This database presents an archive of publications focused on U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Series 2 focuses on Hispanic American civil rights, religion and women’s rights from the 18th through the 20th century. Content is written, indexed and searchable in Spanish and English.
- Borderlands Archives CartographyBAC is a project that consists of a digital map which displays a U.S.-Mexico border newspapers cartography that records geographic locations of nineteenth and mid-twentieth century periodicals.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search and view the full text of hundreds of digitized historical newspapers from 42 states, with titles dating from 1789-1963, provided free by the Library of Congress.
- The Documented Border: An Open Access Digital ArchiveThis online digital archive from the University of Arizona focuses on materials from and about the U.S.-Mexico borderlands. It includes interviews with journalists and activists, oral histories, and illustrations of U.S. immigration policies.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
A database that searches the full text of newspapers, magazines and journals published by the ethnic, minority and native press of the United States.
- Historic Mexican and Mexican American PressEnglish and Spanish language newspapers from Arizona, California, Texas and Mexico. The Mexican newspapers are all from Sonora.
- Independent Voices
An open access collection of alternative press material.
- La Opinion (Google News)Scans of La Opinion, a Spanish-language newspaper based in Los Angeles, with coverage from 1920-2008.
- Pew Research Center: Hispanics/LatinosResearch & reports by the Pew Research Center related to Hispanics and Latinos.
- Raza Movimiento NewspapersNewspapers dedicated to the Chicano Movement. In Mexico and Mexican diasporic communities, "la Raza" has historically been used to refer to mixed-race populations, in a similar fashion to the term "mestizo" or "mestizaje."
- Zona Latina: Latin American Newspapers (USA)A list of Hispanic/Latina newspapers published in the U.S., with links to their websites.
Narcomedia by Call Number: PN1995.9.L37 R85 2023ISBN: 9781477328187Publication Date: 2023-10-10Popular culture, from Scarface and Miami Vice to Narcos and Better Call Saul, has continually positioned Latinos as an alien people who threaten the US body politic with drugs. Jason Ruiz explores the creation and endurance of this trope, its effects on Latin Americans and Latinx people, and its role in the cultural politics of the War on Drugs.
