Peer Reviewed or Scholarly FAQ
What are scholarly or peer reviewed articles?
Professors often require students to find scholarly and peer reviewed articles. These items:
- generally focus on scholarly research
- are written by experts in the field or discipline
- are critically reviewed by other experts before publication
- contain cited references to the information sources used
How do I find scholarly or peer reviewed articles?
Many of the library's databases contain scholarly or peer reviewed material and allow you to limit your search to include only these articles in the results. Use the advanced search feature in a database to find the option to limit to this type of search.
Summon Limited to Peer-Reviewed Articles
- Summon
Search the BGSU library catalog alongside the vast majority of our journal content at one time using Summon. Find and link to full text articles in scholarly journals and newspapers, ebooks, and images.
Use this link if you are experiencing access issues:
Summon Search - EBSCO Databases
Access to all of the EBSCO databases which the library subscribes to, including our most heavily-used database, Academic Search Complete. Browse a list of all EBSCO databases or use the link above to search them all at the same time. You can also connect to EBSCO then click on "Choose Databases" to link to specific EBSCO databases.
Individual Databases of Interest
- America: History & Life (EBSCO)Index to scholarly journal articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteIndexing, abstracts and full text for journals in communication studies, covering topics such as journalism, mass media, and communicative disorders.
- Ethnic Diversity SourceThis full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Books and articles covering research in television and film.
- Gender Studies DatabaseIndex to articles, books and book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations and more dealing with topics in women's studies, men's studies and sexual diversity issues.
- JSTOR
Over a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s. JSTOR now also hosts the complete ArtSTOR collection.
- LGBTQ+ Source
Indexing, abstracts and full text for journal, magazine, and newspaper articles on LGBTQ+ topics and issues.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
Index to scholarly publications in sociology, covering topics such as criminal justice, marriage and family, social work, substance abuse, and violence.