Resources
- AATVarchiveArab American TV was a Los Angeles-based news and media syndicate that produced bilingual content from the early 1980s through the mid-2000s. Professor William Youmans of George Washington University has been digitizing content from the archive and making it freely available on YouTube.
- Al JazeeraBased in Qatar, Al Jazeera has become one of the best-known media sites in the Arab World and beyond.
- Arab American National MuseumThe AANM Collections Online includes items from the Arab American National Archives and the museum's artifact collection. On this website you will primarily find books, documents, personal papers, photographs, and oral histories created by, owned, or primarily used by Arab Americans, or that illustrate the Arab American experience
- The Arab American NewsHeadquartered in Dearborn, Michigan, The Arab American News has a thirty-nine year history of award winning journalism. It includes local, national and international political analyses and bilingual content.
- Arab American Newspapers ProjectThis is a fully searchable database of Arab American newspapers, published in the US between 1894 and 1960.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
A database that searches the full text of newspapers, magazines and journals published by the ethnic, minority and native press of the United States.
- Student Activism
Primary sources documenting the history of student organizing in the United States, including hundreds of items contributed by BGSU, in formats such as leaflets, fliers, newsletters, campaign materials, protest literature, clippings, periodicals, bulletins, letters, press releases, as well as meeting, demonstration, conference, and event documentation.
Topics include: Anti-apartheid divestiture, student involvement in the civil rights movement, Indians of All Tribes’ occupation of Alcatraz, Take-Back-the-Night anti-sexual assault activism, Vietnam War opposition and demilitarization activism, Women’s rights, LGBTQ+ rights, and more.
Arabs and Muslims in the Media by Call Number: PN1992.8.A7 A58 2012ISBN: 9780814707319Publication Date: 2012-08-20After 9/11, there was an increase in both the incidence of hate crimes and government policies that targeted Arabs and Muslims and the proliferation of sympathetic portrayals of Arabs and Muslims in the U.S. media. Arabs and Muslims in the Media examines this paradox and investigates the increase of sympathetic images of "the enemy" during the War on Terror.
