LibGuides: JOUR 4550: Media Diversity: News Sources

News Pre-1900

History Commons
The Accessible Archives collection within History Commons includes text primary sources from 18th and 19th century America, mainly newspapers, including the Pennsylvania Gazette, the Virginia Gazette, Godey's Lady's Book, Frederick Douglass Paper, a collection of South Carolina Newspapers, and a collection of African American newspapers
NewspaperArchive.com
Searchable full text for hundreds of historical newspapers published in Ohio between 1800-2010. Search or browse 19th and 20th century Ohio newspapers and view full-page pdf images.
Coverage: 1800-2010
African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
The full text of hundreds of U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states published by African Americans, dating from 1827 to 1998.
Coverage: 1827-1898
American Periodicals Series Online
The full text of hundreds of American magazines, journals, and newspapers published between 1741 and 1900.
Coverage: 1741-1900
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search and view the full text of hundreds of digitized historical newspapers from 42 states, with titles dating from 1789-1963, provided free by the Library of Congress.
Cincinnati Enquirer (1872-1922)
Full text for several newspaper titles published in Cincinnati between 1872 and 1922.
Detroit Free Press (1831-1922)
Full text for several newspaper titles published in Detroit between 1831 and 1922.
New York Times Historical
The entire contents of the New York Times from 1851 to three years ago.

News 1900-1975

NewspaperArchive.com
Searchable full text for hundreds of historical newspapers published in Ohio between 1800-2010. Search or browse 19th and 20th century Ohio newspapers and view full-page pdf images.
Coverage: 1800-2010
African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
The full text of hundreds of U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states published by African Americans, dating from 1827 to 1998.
Coverage: 1827-1898
BG News (1920-current)
Full-text scans of the BGSU daily campus newspaper, BG News, hosted in ScholarWorks@BGSU. Full-text-searchable, each issue can be printed or downloaded as a PDF. Content goes back to 1920, and is updated regularly with the latest issues.
Coverage: 1920-current
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search and view the full text of hundreds of digitized historical newspapers from 42 states, with titles dating from 1789-1963, provided free by the Library of Congress.
Cincinnati Enquirer (1872-1922)
Full text for several newspaper titles published in Cincinnati between 1872 and 1922.
Detroit Free Press (1831-1922)
Full text for several newspaper titles published in Detroit between 1831 and 1922.
Ethnic NewsWatch
A database that searches the full text of newspapers, magazines and journals published by the ethnic, minority and native press of the United States. 1959-Present
New York Times Historical
The entire contents of the New York Times from 1851 to three years ago.

News 1975-Present

New York Times
This page describes how to access the New York Times for research AND you can sign up for the New York Times app with your BGSU email for free through BGSU's subscription.

New York Times Historical
The entire contents of the New York Times from 1851 to three years ago. For current articles, you can register for a free New York Times subscription with your BGSU email.
African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
The full text of hundreds of U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states published by African Americans, dating from 1827 to 1998.
Coverage: 1827-1898
BG News (1920-current)
Full-text scans of the BGSU daily campus newspaper, BG News, hosted in ScholarWorks@BGSU. Full-text-searchable, each issue can be printed or downloaded as a PDF. Content goes back to 1920, and is updated regularly with the latest issues.
Coverage: 1920-current
Newspaper Source
Full text for 185 national and international newspapers, selected full text for 392 regional U.S. newspapers, and full text newswires, transcripts, etc. 1985-present.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
The database formerly named LexisNexis Academic is now called Nexis Uni! Contains full-text newspapers, business information, and legal publications, including current news, company profiles, industry information, and federal and state laws and legislation. This is a great option for full text of some web published Atlantic Articles
1980s to present
ProQuest Global Newsstream
An online newspaper resource that includes international, national and regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post.