Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Library of Congress
The Library's mission is to make its resources available and
useful to the Congress and the American people and to sustain and
preserve a universal collection of knowledge and creativity for future
American Memory is a project to provide free and open access to a number of items that document American history and life. The materials are pulled together in large collections and are searchable by keyword.
U.S. Copyright Office
Search copyright records, register a work, read up on copyright laws and more on the webpage of the U.S. Copyright Office.
See current and past exhibitions that have been created by the Library of Congress. The subject matter is varied and each exhibition contains interactive material, information on the subject and how to view the exhibition in person.
The Smithsonian Institution was established in 1846 with funds
bequeathed to the United States by James Smithson. The Institution is as
an independent trust instrumentality of the United States holding more
than 140 million artifacts and specimens in its trust for "the increase
and diffusion of knowledge". The Institution is also a center for
research dedicated to public education, national service, and
scholarship in the arts, sciences, and history.
National Archives and Record Administration
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the
Federal agency called the collective memory of America. It preserves our
nation's history by managing all Federal records. Further, it seeks to
ensure access to historic records which document citizens' rights and
our national experience.
NARA by Subject
An excellent and detailed index by subject of the NARA website, including links to the Access to Archival Databases and the Archival Research Catalog.
America's Historical Documents
Highlights some of America's most important historical documents, including the Declaration of Independence, Bill of Rights, Emancipation Proclamation and Edison's Light Bulb Patent.
100 Milestone Documents
This list of historic documents was compiled by the National Archives and chronicles United States history from 1776 to 1965. Links to the full-text documents provided. Includes a wide range of titles and time periods, including The Monroe Doctrine, President Jackson's Message to Congress on Indian Removal; Japanese Relocation Executive Order; Tonkin-Gulf Resolution and the Voting Rights Act.
NARA preserves and makes available the records and personal papers of all Presidents since Hoover. Although the Presidential Libraries are built with private funds, NARA operates them and provides reference service for their holdings.
National Endowment for the Humanities
The National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) is an independent
grant-making agency of the United States government dedicated to
supporting research, education, and public programs in the humanities.
The magazine publication of the NEH. You can find a listing of the current issue, as well as access to the Humanities archive.
State Humanities Councils
Organized by state, this list provides the contact information for each state's Humanities Council.
National Endowment for the Arts
The National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) is an independent agency of
the U.S. government that supports the creation, dissemination, and
performance of the arts. Literature, music, theatre, film, dance, fine
arts, sculpture, and crafts projects are among those funded by the NEA.
Links to NEA information about particular artistic fields, such as literature, dance, music, theater, design, arts education, etc.
Research & Analysis
Full text of NEA publications that present research, statistics, etc. about the arts.
NEA Office for Accessibility
An office within the NEA that works to make the arts accessible for people with disabilities, older adults, veterans, and people living in institutions.
States and Regional Arts Organizations
Links to state and regional arts organizations in the U.S.
Department of the Interior
The Mission of the Department of the Interior is to protect and
provide access to our Nation's natural and cultural heritage and honor
our trust responsibilities to Indian Tribes and our commitments to
DOI Home Page
The hub provides links to the numerous bureaus of the DOI, including Indian Affairs, Land Management and National Park Service. It also provides numerous resources for Native Americans, tourists and the public at large.
National Park Service
Links to information about individual National Parks and other information about the historical, cultural, and recreational opportunities available in the National Parks.
Virtual Museum Exhibits
A database of artifacts from National Park Service facilities.
Ohio Arts Council
The Ohio Arts Council Home Page
This homepage is a portal to a plethora of information on the arts in Ohio. Search a wide number of Art-related databases, see what is exhibiting at the Riffe Gallery, get involved and find events to attend.
Ohio Art Festivals Search
The Ohio Arts Council also maintains a database of festivals in Ohio. Use this handy search to find a festival by Name, City, Region, Kind of Show or starting and ending dates.