Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Recent Census Data
This resource replaces the now defunct American FactFinder. This is the U.S. Census Bureau's main vehicle for distributing U.S. census data, including economic censuses and surveys and annual population estimates. Population, housing, economic and geographic data can be found here.
Gateway to census information including census publications, GIS Tiger files, maps, information on the Bureau and the census process & More.
Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates
Small area income and poverty data estimates at the national, state, and county level. Covers 1989 to 2013.
State of the Cities Data Systems
The SOCDS provides social and economic data for individual Metropolitan Areas, Central Cities, and Suburbs. Varied data sources from the 1970's-Present
Visual Demographic Data
Looking for ready-made demographic data displayed in a visual map or graph? The following resources are excellent visualization tools for a variety of demographic data including race, religion, education, language and more.
Social Explorer--Free Edition
Social Explorer is an online research tool that creates maps and reports from modern and historical census data and and other sources of demographic information. The free version does not include access to all available variables.
MLA Language Map
The Language Map Data Center provides data from US Census 2000 about over three hundred languages spoken in the United States, including actual counts and percentages of speakers.
Finding Older Census Data
The BGSU Government Documents Depository collection contains historical United States census publications.
For more information on using our print collection, please visit our Print Government Documents page.
Census of Population and Housing
Digital access to the census of Population and Housing data from 1790-2010. The display of data will continue as historical census records become available.
Quick historical and recent statistics on popular topics such as immigration, population, and economic indicators.
Statistical Abstract: Earlier Editions
Contains full text of two compiled historical statistics publications, the Historical Statistics of the United States, 1789 - 1945 & Bicentennial Edition: Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970 as well as Statistical Abstracts by year from 1878-present
United States Historical Census Data
This site was created by University of Virginia. The data presented here describe the people and the economy of the US for each state and county from 1790 to 1970.
Interpreting Older Census Information (PDF)
Produced by the Census Bureau, this publication includes extensive information about the decennial censuses. Included are facsimiles of the census questionnaires, 1790-2000. It includes guides to census records and a history of each census. Highly recommended for those examining historical census records.