Online Dictionaries
WordReference
A free online dictionary with around 100,000 words and phrases with over 200,000 translations. A subset of the Oxford dictionaries.
The Oxford Concise Spanish-English/English-Spanish Dictionary
Authoritative coverage of over 170,000 words and phrases, and over 240,000 translations. You will be prompted to log in to use this resources off-campus.
Searching for E-Books
Search these e-book collections for possible sources, especially if you're away from campus! If you are using them off-campus, you may need to log in with your BGSU username and password.
Two e-book databases are recommended below. To access even more, visit the Libraries E-Book Collections.
- Electronic Book CenterThe OhioLINK Electronic Book Center (EBC) offers thousands of scholarly and reference e-books covering the humanities, sciences and social sciences. The e-books were purchased by Ohio academic libraries from ABC-CLIO, Oxford U Press, and Springer.
- ebraryebrary is a provider of electronic books. University Libraries has purchased their books on education and business, marketing, and economics. Each book is listed in the catalog and the ebrary reader must be downloaded to read the books.
Using the Libraries Resources Around the World
|
Plaza de Cervantes, Alcalá de Henares, |
Museo de Antropología, Xalapa |
Even if you are not on the BGSU campus, you are able to take advantage of the Libraries' resources and services as a BGSU student or faculty member. To use electronic resources when you are away from campus, you simply need your BGSU username and password for remote access and for access to your library account. The Libraries has an incredible number of e-journals and increasing access to e-books. Check out the materials listed in the Literature & Culture and Linguistics tabs for suggested resources.
If you experience problems accessing materials electronically, click on the ASK US! tab to explore the variety of ways you can get help.
Literature Databases
This will search several EBSCO Literature Databases at once: Academic Search Complete; Humanities International Complete; Literary Reference Center; MLA Directory of Periodicals; and MLA International Bibliography.
Electronic Delivery of Print Articles
The University Libraries is piloting a new service for Faculty and Distance Education students. As AYA students, you are clearly distance students! Basically, if BGSU owns a journal in print, you can request an article from that journal via Interlibrary Loan and have it delivered electronically to your desktop, no matter where you are.
Requesting an Electronic Copy of an Article Only Available in Print:
- If you identify an article that is not available in full text, enter the citation via interlibrary loan using Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
If BGSU owns the print copy, and you're faculty or a distance education
patron, you will receive a copy of the article electronically. Items
not owned by BGSU will be requested via the regular interlibrary loan
process.
- Distance students should add text in the note field of each request in Interlibrary Loan (ILL) that they are a "distance education student."
Turn Around Times For Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Requests
- Articles From BGSU: 1 Business Day
- Articles From Other Institutions: Approximately 2 Weeks.
For more information, contact ill@bgsu.edu
Problems with your Library Account?
If you are not able to log onto a library database or use a resource and instead receive a message asking you to update your library account, please contact the library circulation desk. You can email them at circdesk@libanswers.bgsu.edu.