LibGuides: Spanish Language & Hispanic Studies: Articles

Search Tip!

If you are looking for articles on a certain topic, use Research Databases!

E-Journals

Browse by title

A · B · C · D · E · F · G · H · I · J · K · L · M · N · O · P · Q · R · S · T · U · V · W · X · Y · Z · Numbers

Browse by subject

Newspaper Articles

Information on the most current events may only be found in newspapers. Try these sources to find news articles.

Lexis Nexis Academic
Click News on the left side of the screen, and then select All News. Type in your search terms, specify dates if needed and use the Select Source drop down menu to choose Newspapers.
Regional Newspapers from Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)
Links to newspapers and news from Latin America; includes a search box that will search online news sources.

Already have a journal title?

If you already have a journal citation from an existing bibliography or some other source, use this tool to see if you can find the article online or in print:

Article Look-Up for Citations

Core Research Databases

Start with these essential databases. These are high-quality, subscription-only databases provided by the University Libraries. If you are using them off-campus, you may need to authenticate with your BGSU username and password.

Academic Search Complete (ASC)
If you are working on a culture studies topic, ASC may be a good database for you because it includes information from a wide variety of disciplines: gender studies, economics, sociology, psychology, education, and more.
more...less...
A multi-disciplinary full-text database that includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, of which 4,400 are peer-reviewed journals. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Humanities International Complete
Indexes and abstracts hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Covers all fields of the humanities. Excellent for interdisciplinary topics.
MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Annually, it indexes more than 45,000 books and articles.
more...less...
Coverage includes works about literature that is transmitted orally, in print, or in audiovisual media and about human language, including both natural languages and invented languages (e.g., Esperanto). Inclusions must be of scholarly interest. No apprentice or simplified works are included.

LAPTOC: Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents

LAPTOC is a searchable Web database that provides access to the tables of contents of more than 950 journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, published in Latin America. The participating libraries of the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project have accepted institutional collecting responsibilities for the journals included in the database. The libraries agree to acquire each issue of the assigned journal, to enter the tables of contents into the database, and to provide document delivery from the titles for which they maintain institutional responsibility. The database currently contains citations for over 325,000 articles.

Most of the titles included in this database are not available at the BGSU Libraries. You will have to submit a request via Interlibrary Loan (ILL), BGSU's interlibrary loan service in order to get an article. Do not use the ILL link inside LAPTOC to request an item. You will have to logon to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) and type in the information.

Databases of Full-Text Journals

Depending on your topic, you may want to search these other databases. Be careful with JSTOR and Project Muse--both are databases of full-text journals. When you conduct a keyword search in them, you will search every word in every single journal article in the databases. You may retrieve many irrelevant items. Read the search tips in each for suggestions on ways to search efficiently.

JSTOR
An archive of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are not available.
Project Muse
Provides online access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Includes articles from from as early as 1993 to present.

Chat With Us

Additional Databases: Literature

Depending on your topic, you may find relevant background material in these other databases:

Literary Reference Center (from EBSCO)
A comprehensive literary reference database that provides a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. A completely full-text database that combines information from reference works & hundreds of literary journals.
Literature Resource Center (from Gale)
A searchable database of information about authors and their works. Includes biographies, portraits, critical essays, excepts of literary criticism, summaries of works, and full text journal articles.
more...less...
Much of the content was originally published in such Gale series as Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, Short Story Criticism, etc.