Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FMPD (Fashion Merchandising and Product Development): Industry Info

This page is designed to assist BGSU students enrolled in AMPD classes with their research

Find Articles & Statistics on the Fashion, Apparel & Textile Industry

Industry Reports

Berg Fashion LIbrary

Berg EncyclopediaThe full text of the ten-volume Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion explores the dressed and adorned body across cultures and throughout history (17th century to contemporary).  Access the encyclopedia in the Berg Fashion Librardatabase, which also includes thousands of color images, ebooks, essays, and additional reference materials on fashion.

Trade vs. Scholarly vs. Popular - Which is it?

China Textiles

Rolls of Chinese textiles

Retrieved from AP Images.

What is a Trade Publication?

A trade publication (magazine, journal or newspaper) contains news articles and items of interest concerning a particular job, career, trade, or industry.   

  • Articles are written by specialists in the field, but sometimes do no list an author.Cover Art
  • Articles are written for people who work in a particular field such as fashion, apparel, or retail,.
  • Articles are written to provide practical information, news, etc.  Specialized language or jargon is often used.

Check out this Library Basics page to help you determine if an article is from a popular magazine, trade publication, or a scholarly journal?  

Apparel & Textile Industry Trade Publications (Used in FMPD 1510)

Earnshaw's  (Infants - girls - boys wear)

Access and search Earnshaw's within Business Source Complete or on their website. Also available in print at the Jerome Library.  Main Periodicals (in back corner behind the Learning Commons)

Retail Merchandiser 

Access and search within Retail Merchandiser in Business Source Complete.  Also available in print at the Jerome Library.  Main Periodicals (in back corner behind the Learning Commons)

Sourcing Journal 

Access and search Sourcing Journal online.. This publication offers industry news, expert commentary and in-depth analysis.

Stores (National Retail Federation)

Read the current issues of Stores  or search the Stores archives  . Also in print at Jerome Library, Main Periodicals (in back corner behind Learning Commons).

Textile Outlook International

Textile Outlook International is available in print at the Jerome Library in Main Periodicals (in back corner behind Learning Commons).  It is not available online.  See additional information about this journal in a separate box below.

Textile World

Search for articles in Textile World through the library or go to textileworld.com. Also in print at Jerome Library, Main Periodicals (in back corner behind Learning Commons).

Visual Merchandising and Store Design

Access and search VM & SD on their website. Also in print at Jerome Library, Main Periodicals (in back corner behind Learning Commons).

Vogue Business

         Access this new fashion industry publication at voguebusiness.com.

WWD (Women's Wear Daily)

Connect to WWD online.   Read current content or search the WWD archives from 1994 - present.   Sign up to receive WWD Digital Daily emails.   with your BGSU email account.  Note:  It could take up to a week to receive your first WWD Digital Daily email.

You can also access WWD articles in EBSCO's Business Source Complete database from this WWD Publication page

Selected Websites Covering the Fashion, Apparel & Retail Industries

Textile Outlook International -- Great Resource for AMPD 4510

Textile Outlook International Issued 6 times per year, this periodical is arguably the most in-depth resource for the global fiber, textile and apparel industries and for specific countries within the industry.

Where?  Located in the Jerome Library in Main Periodicals (shelved alphabetically, by title, so start in the "Ts" for Textile...)

How do I find reports on my country?

  1. Search for your country on the Textile Intelligence web site. 
  2. Write down the issue with your article (ex. Issue 122, March-April 2006) and go find it on the library shelves.  The full text of the articles are not available online.