Beyond the Company Website
- Business Source CompleteInformation on all topics in business, including full-text, scholarly journal articles, company information, and industry reports.
- MarketLine AdvantageCompany, industry and country information for US and global business. Includes in-depth analyst reports and statistics.
- MintelResearch reports covering US and International marketplaces.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowThe database formerly named LexisNexis Academic is now called Nexis Uni! Contains full-text newspapers, business information, and legal publications, including current news, company profiles, industry information, and federal and state laws and legislation. This is a great option for full text of some web published Atlantic Articles
Luxury Fashion - Selected Resources
- Textiles, Apparel & Luxury Goods - Industry Surveys (CFRA)
This 40 page industry analysis includes a discussion on sustainability and supply chain challenges.
- Go to the library database S & P Net Advantage.
- Select Industry Surveys from the top menu bar.
- Select Textiles, Apparel & Luxury Goods from the drop down menu
- The Luxury Consumer : Mintel market research report
Learn about what motivates the luxury consumer and the competitive strategies of leading luxury brands.
FMPD 4510 Resource Requirements
| Your assignment:
Analyze Burberry's Sustainability Strategies within the 4-Stage Textile-Based Product Lifecycle:
For each stage, identify and evaluate their initiatives utilizing the 7-R Framework
|
|
Where should you start?
- Company Website: Need tips on finding information from a company website? Check out boxes on the FMPD 1510 Project page. us.burberry.com
- SummonSearch for newspapers, magazine, and journal articles, as well as ebooks and more, all at once with a Summon search! Find articles on leading retailer's sustainability and sourcing practices, as well as articles on practices of luxury brands. Look for Summon search tips at the bottom of the page!
Sourcing and Sustainability
- Sourcing JournalAn excellent source of current articles on sourcing and sustainability news and issues.
- Vogue Business (Sustainability section)Locate articles about sustainability issues within the fashion industry.
- WWD.com (Women's Wear Daily)Access to current issues and online content of Women's Wear Daily magazine, plus back issues and web content going back to 1994.
- Circular Shopping: Retail and Rentals - Mintel Report (2022)“Consumers’ ... desire to behave more sustainably are contributing to the rise of circular shopping. While there are barriers and challenges to overcome, secondhand shopping, rentals, and resale of personal items will become more adopted by both consumers and brands in the years ahead.”
Sustainable Luxury Brands by ISBN: 1137601582Publication Date: 2017-02-07This book counteracts the claim that luxury and sustainability are conflicting concepts, and contends that they can successfully co-exist. Discussing key characteristics of luxury such as craftsmanship and preservation of artisan skills, product quality and durability, and limited quantities of luxury goods, the authors argue that luxury brands are inherently sustainable from economic, social and environmental perspectives.
Sustainable Management of Luxury by ISBN: 9789811029172Highlights issues concerning management in luxury goods and related industries. Suggests business models to help companies manage sustainability and innovation in luxury. Helps consumers and customers appreciate innovations in luxury.
Searching Summon
Combining Search Terms
Searches you might want to try in Summon (be sure to capitalize OR or it will not work!):
- Burberry AND (sustainability OR sourcing)
- luxury AND (fashion OR clothes OR apparel) AND (sustainability OR environment)
- "social responsibility" AND fashion
- sustainable luxury brands
Other terms you might want to try: reuse, repair, recycle, overstock, burning,
Add an asterisk (*) to the end of a word to find various forms of the word: sustainab* will find both sustainability and sustainable
- Burberry AND (sustainab* OR sourcing)
Also try searching terms with other luxury brand names. Are Burberry's competitors finding success with how they're handling sustainability issues?
Refining Your Search
After running your search, consider refining your search with the options on the left. You might want to limit by content type (newspaper article, ebook, etc.) or by specific dates (ex. previous 3 years)
Go to the Summon Help Research Guide for additional searching assistance.
- Keyword Searching WorksheetThis worksheet will help you to gather keywords used for searching, as well as how to put those keywords together in a variety of search statements.