Subject Guide
Menu
What Type of Information Do You Need?
Our Favorites!
- Vogue ArchiveA complete, searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. Includes every article, cover, photo shoot, illustration and advertisement, with rich indexing enabling users to find images by designer and brand names.
- WWD.com (Women's Wear Daily)Access to current issues and online content of Women's Wear Daily magazine, plus back issues and web content going back to 1994.
- Berg Fashion Library
The Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion features over 2,000 images and 800 in-depth articles that examine global dress cultures throughout history. It adopts a cross-cultural and multidisciplinary approach to highlight the richness of fashion. Additional reference works include Classic and Modern Writings on Fashion, the A-Z of Fashion, and The Dictionary of Fashion History, along with 200+ academic books on significant fashion writings. The encyclopedia also offers access to museum exhibitions and over 17,000 color images from renowned institutions, plus teaching resources like lesson plans and bibliographic guides.
We Wear Culture (Google)
We Wear Culture, part of Google's Arts & Culture Platform, is a searchable archive of world fashion, created in collaboration with over 180 museums, school, fashion institutes and others organizations, In addition to being a huge database , We Wear Culture also includes over 450 exhibits and stories on various topics. Example topics are Boots, Silk, Cocktail Dress, Costume & Denim.
There is a section on Fashion Icons which includes exhibits on many designers.
There is a section on The Movements which focuses on various fashion trends and groups.
The Making Of (the craft and stories behind what you wear) includes exhibits such as the stories of the kimono and sari and various other traditional dress.
Fashion As Art is an "exploration of fashion as art, and art influenced by fashion."