Streaming video at BGSU
-
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Digital Theatre+ is a leading resource for theatre and performance studies, offering access to world-class productions, practitioner interviews, and educational resources. The platform includes a broad range of content on acting, directing, technical theatre, movement, and theatre history to support teaching and learning.
-
OnTheBoards.tv This link opens in a new window
Full-length, high quality video of contemporary performance of theater, dance, and music.
-
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
A streaming service for videos from major educational film producers and distributors. BGSU subscribes to select title licenses as requested for supplemental course material, in addition to a collection of over 10,000 titles through the Kanopy Base subscription. Check out this list of titles available here: https://libguides.bgsu.edu/streamingvideo/kanopy
-
OnTheBoards.tv This link opens in a new window
Full-length, high quality video of contemporary performance of theater, dance, and music.
Finding DVDs
At Jerome Library
You can limit a search to DVDs and VHS from the library's home page: choose the "Catalog" tab and the option for "DVDs and VHS" from the dropdown. Your search will bring back videos in our main circulating collection and in the Popular Culture library, but NOT streaming video.
Videos from the Popular Culture library can be checked out for one week.
Wolfe Viewing Center
The Wolfe Viewing Center is a library of videos and DVDs in the Wolfe Center building. You can search their holdings and view course reserve listings online.
Performance reviews
You can find reviews in the New York Times from 1851-present in ProQuest. Go to the Advanced Search and choose document type "Review."
Relevant ProQuest databases for reviews include:
-
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
The entire contents of the New York Times from 1851 to three years ago.
-
ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowTo find reviews in the New York Times in the last 4 years, use ProQuest Newsstand, which includes the full text of the NYT from 1980-present, as well as a number of other major national newspapers.
-
American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new windowThe full text of over 1,100 American magazines, journals, and newspapers published between 1741 and 1900.
For more newspaper and popular press databases, see our list of News & Current Events databases. Includes historical newspapers.
Theatre Design & Technology
We've linked several subject searches from the BGSU Libraries Catalog for your convenience, though they are not the only searches available.
Lighting
Scene Design - Backstage, Rigging, Carpentry
Costume
Makeup
Stage Management
Painting
Sound Design
Dramaturgy
Puppetry
Costume
-
Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new windowThe full text of the ten-volume Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, which explores the dressed and adorned body across cultures and throughout history. This database also includes thousands of color images, ebooks, essays, and additional reference materials on fashion. A wonderful reference source for costume designers.
-
ARTstor This link opens in a new windowOver a million images, primarily of artworks from prehistory to the present, but also the social sciences. Especially of interest to costumers and performers are its History of Theatre and Shakespeare: Text and Performance image collections. Connect to ARTstor then click on "Teaching Resources" on the landing page to view these collections.
-
Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear Through the Ages
by
Call Number: REF GT511 .P46 2004ISBN: 9780787654177Publication Date: 2003Five volumes, two of which are devoted to the 20th century. -
Fashion Accessories: The Complete 20th Century Sourcebook
by
Call Number: REF GT596 .P395 2000ISBN: 9780500019979Publication Date: 20002,000 full color drawings presenting the most comprehensive record of 20th century fashion accessories. -
The Guide to Historic Costume
by
Call Number: REF TT503 .B33 1995ISBN: 9780896761377Publication Date: 1995-01-01Covering 250 categories of costume, this is a detailed survey of surviving historic costume.
Organizations
Some prominent theatre conferences and organizations:
- American Society for Theatre Research (ASTR)
- Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE)
- Mid-America Theatre Conference (MATC)
- National Communications Association (NCA)
- American Association of Community Theatre
Web Resources
-
Internet Broadway DatabaseThe official database for Broadway information.
-
McCoy's Guide to Theatre and Performance StudiesArguably one of the best theatre resources sites around
-
Monologues and ScenesThis website is a good online resource for actors to find monologues and scenes to work on. It has over 600 pieces from films, television, books and plays.
-
Musicals101.comAll kinds of information relating to musicals on stage, television, and film.