Databases
Try these databases first to find articles for research in theatre & production. More database suggestions and specific journals are listed on the Theatre History, Criticism & Theory page.
-
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index to articles, books, book chapters and dissertations on theatre, dance and performance from 1983 to the present. Some full text.
Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyze, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
A detailed index to journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations published on subjects in modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyze, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein
-
Project MUSE - Standard Collection This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary collection of hundreds of high quality, peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. All titles in the Standard Collection are full text.
Coverage: Mostly 2006 to the present
Users: Unlimited simultaneous users
Contains: BGSU has purchased 86 titles on Project MUSE and has access to around 1,800 open access titles. The collection is particularly strong in humanities and social sciences subjects.
Best for: A wide range of academic subjects
Printing: From pdfs
Download: Each chapter is a downloadable pdf
Compatible with: Anything with a web browser, pdf
-
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Digital Theatre+ is a leading resource for theatre and performance studies, offering access to world-class productions, practitioner interviews, and educational resources. The platform includes a broad range of content on acting, directing, technical theatre, movement, and theatre history to support teaching and learning.
-
OnTheBoards.tv This link opens in a new window
Full-length, high quality video of contemporary performance of theater, dance, and music.
-
Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new windowThe 18th Edition of the Chicago Manual of Style, a citation and presentation style often used in the Arts & Humanities.
Special collections
Don't forget our Special Collections!
You may not be able to take all of these materials out of the library, but you can usually photograph, copy or scan them.
The Ray & Pat Browne Popular Culture Library, on the 4th floor, has a wealth of visual materials, including graphic novels, zines, comic books, posters, postcards, magazines and more.
The Music Library & Bill Schurk Sound Archives, on the 3rd floor, has album art, posters, and zines as well as music.
The Curriculum Resource Center, on the 2nd floor, has puppets, games, picture files, illustrated children's books, pop-up books, K-12 teaching aids, and the Ellison Machine, which will punch out an amazing variety of shapes from paper or cloth.
