Using Summon and the Library Catalog
Search Summon by title or author, then limit to books.
To find monologues, search the catalog by subject word "monologues." Don't forget the "s!"
You can also start your searches in OhioLINK and request items from libraries all over Ohio.
- OhioLINKUse OhioLINK to find books at any of the 90+ OhioLINK libraries and request they be sent to BGSU so you can check them out.
Online databases
Full-text plays written between the 13th century and 1911 can be found in the following databases:
- American DramaThe full text of 706 plays written by over 300 American dramatists between 1741 and 1911.
- Editions and Adaptations of ShakespeareThe complete text of eleven major editions of Shakespeare's works, from the First Folio (1623) to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6. It also includes twenty-four separate contemporary printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha and related works, and more than 100 adaptations, sequels, and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth, and nineteenth centuries.
- English Prose DramaThe full text of more than 1,800 prose plays by approximately 400 authors from the Renaissance to the end of the 19th century. Works were selected from the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature and the text taken from early or collected editions of the works. Selected page images are linked from the searchable full text.
- English Verse DramaThe full text of more than 2,200 works by over 800 authors (some anonymous), from the Shrewsbury Fragments of the late thirteenth century through the Elizabethan and Jacobean periods to the end of the nineteenth century. Works were selected from the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature, and editions contemporary with their authors were used. Major verse dramas as well as masques and short dramatic pieces written primarily in verse, selected translations, works written for children, and numerous adaptations are included.
Indexes of plays
- Index to Full Length Plays byCall Number: PN1655 .T5, 3 vols (1895-1925; 1926-1944; 1944-1964)
- Index to Plays in Periodicals byCall Number: PN1721.K44, 2 vols (1979 & 1990)
Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections by Call Number: REF PN1655.O77ISBN: 9780810820814Publication Date: 1993Covers collections published between 1900 and 1985.- Index to One-Act Plays byCall Number: PN1865.L63 & PN1865.L63 Suppl, 7 vols (1900-1924; 1924-1931; 1932-1940; 1941-1948; 1948-1957; 1956-1964)
- Play Index (1949-2002) byCall Number: Ref PN1721.P5, 10 vols.
Browsing in the library
Scripts and plays can be found in the P's (literature).
Greek and Roman theatre: PA's
- Greek: PA3050-PA4505 (range 121)
- Roman: PA6000-6971 (ranges 121-122)
Asian theatre: PL's
- Chinese: PL2000-3208 (range 125)
- Japanese: PL700-889 (range 125)
Monologues: PN2080s (range 131)
Collections of plays
- General: PN6110-6120 (ranges 134-135)
- French: PQ1211-1241 (range 135)
- English: PR621-744 (range 139)
- American: PS623-635 (range 147)
- German: PT1251-1299 (range 154)
Collections of plays by English and American playwrights
- English: PR621-744 (range 139)
- American: PS330-353 (range 146)
Shakespeare: PR2750-3112 (ranges 140-141)
Find songs
Are you looking for the perfect song for your voice and audition type? Our new database can help you find the right one!