Theatre Journals
Dramatics
Modern Drama
19th Century Theatre & Film
Publishes articles on acting, directing, playwriting, and technology. In print at Jerome Library.
Scholarly journal covering research in world drama from 1850 to the present. Full text of Modern Drama is available online in Project MUSE.
Publishes research on all kinds of 19th century performance: theatre, early film, ‘pre-cinema’ optical and narrative forms, and illusions. Full text of 19th Century Theatre & Film is available online. Also in print.
Performance Research
Plays
Text & Performance Quarterly
Covers contemporary and historical performance and promotes a cross-disciplinary exchange of ideas, images and analysis. Full text of Performance Research is available online.
Prints royalty-free one-act plays and programs for schools, young people's clubs and libraries. Full text of Plays is avaialble online in EBSCO. Also in print.
Provides a scholarly forum to document and critique performances within issues in performance studies. Full text of Text & Performance Quarterly is available online.
TDR: The Drama Review
Theatre Design & Technology
Theatre History Studies
Provides a forum for writing about performances and their social, economic, and political contexts, emphasizing the experimental, avant-garde, intercultural, and interdisciplinary. Full text of TDR is available online.
The journal for design, production, and technology professionals in the performing arts and entertainment industry. Full text of Theatre Design & Technology is available online in EBSCO. Also in print.
Covers research in all areas of theatre history. Full text of Theatre History Studies is available online in EBSCO. Also in print.
Theatre Journal
Theatre Notebook
Theatre Research International
Features social and historical studies, production reviews, and theoretical analysis of dramatic texts and production. Full text of Theatre Journal is available online.
| A journal of the history and technique of the British theatre. Full text of Theatre Notebook is available online. |
Presents history and criticism of drama and the art of the theatre. Full text of Theatre Research International is available online.
Theatre Survey
Word Matters
Youth Theatre Journal
Provides rigorous historical and theoretical studies of performance across all periods. Full text of Theatre Survey is available online.
Contains articles on the inter-relationship of communication, theater, drama and speech at all levels of education. In print at Jerome Library.
Includes articles covering theater and drama education for young audiences. Full text of Youth Theatre Journal is available online.
American Theatre
New Theatre Quarterly
PAJ
Reports on plays in print, performances, and theater season schedules in the US and abroad. Includes full-length play scripts five times per year. Full text of American Theatre is available online.
Subjects prevailing dramatic assumptions to scrutiny. Full text of New Theatre Quarterly is available online.
Covers the visual and performing arts, including reviews of new works in theatre, dance, film, and opera. Full text of PAJ is available online.
Reviews
Find reviews of plays and performances in the following newspaper databases:
-
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
The entire contents of the New York Times from 1851 to three years ago.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
The database formerly named LexisNexis Academic is now called Nexis Uni! Contains full-text newspapers, business information, and legal publications, including current news, company profiles, industry information, and federal and state laws and legislation.
In Nexis Uni, search in news for theater reviews.
You may also be able to find theatre reviews in the following magazine and newspaper databases:
-
Cincinnati Enquirer (1872-1922) This link opens in a new windowFull text for several newspaper titles published in Cincinnati between 1872 and 1922.
-
Detroit Free Press (1831-1922) This link opens in a new windowFull text for several newspaper titles published in Detroit between 1831 and 1922.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
A database that searches the full text of newspapers, magazines and journals published by the ethnic, minority and native press of the United States.
-
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Full text for hundreds of regional, national, and international newspapers, and complete television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more.
-
ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
An online newspaper resource that includes international, national and regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post.
-
American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new window
The full text of hundreds of American magazines, journals, and newspapers published between 1741 and 1900.
Acting
-
The Open Door: Thoughts on Acting and Theatre
by
Call Number: PN1655 .B75 1993ISBN: 0679428062Publication Date: 1993 -
My Life in Art, by Constantin Stanislavski
by
Call Number: PN2728.S78A32 1948Publication Date: 1948
-
To Act, to Do, to Perform: Drama and the Phenomenology of Action
by
Call Number: PN1647 .R39 1994ISBN: 047210537XPublication Date: 1994 -
The Player's Passion: Studies in the Science of Acting
by
Call Number: PN2071.P78R6 1985ISBN: 0874132657Publication Date: 1986 -
A Dictionary of Theatre Anthropology: The Secret Art of the Performer
by
Call Number: PN2041.A57 A5313 2006ISBN: 9780415378611Publication Date: 2005
Theatre history
-
-
Century of Innovation: A History of European and American Theatre and Drama Since the Late 19th Century
by
Call Number: PN2189 .B64 1991ISBN: 0205128785Publication Date: 1990 -
Theories of the Theatre: A Historical and Critical Survey from the Greeks to the Present
by
Call Number: PN2039 .C26 1993ISBN: 0801481546Publication Date: 1993 -
The Theatre of the Absurd
by
Call Number: PN1861.E8 1980ISBN: 0140209298Publication Date: 1983-05-26
-
-
Shakespearean Negotiations: The Circulation of Social Energy in Renaissance England
by
Call Number: PR2976.G737 1988ISBN: 0520061608Publication Date: 1989 -
Anthologies of Critical Texts
-
Twentieth-Century Theatre: A Sourcebook
by
Call Number: PN2020 .T88 1995ISBN: 9780415096195Publication Date: 1995 -
Dramatic Theory and Criticism
by
Call Number: PN1621 .D8 1985ISBN: 0030911524Publication Date: 1974-01-01 -
Theatre/Theory/Theatre: The Major Critical Texts From Aristotle and Zeami to Soyinka and Havel
by
Call Number: PN2039 .T56 2000ISBN: 1557833095Publication Date: 2000-02-01
Theoretical Methodologies
-
Presence and Resistance: Postmodernism and Cultural Politics in Contemporary American Performance
by
Call Number: mul NX504 .A89 1994ISBN: 0472082787Publication Date: 1994 -
-
Get the Guests: Psychoanalysis, Modern American Drama, and the Audience
by
Call Number: PS350 .D38 1994ISBN: 0299141543Publication Date: 1994 -
The Semiotics of Theatre and Drama
by
Call Number: PN1633.S45 E4 2002ISBN: 0415280184Publication Date: 2002-08-02 -
-
Imperialism and Theatre
by
Call Number: PN2049 .I47 1995ISBN: 0415106419Publication Date: 1995-08-09 -
-
Critical Theory and Performance
by
Call Number: PN2039 .C75 2007ISBN: 9780472098866Publication Date: 2007-05-08
-
Performance Studies: An Introduction
by
Call Number: PN2041.A57 S34 2012ISBN: 9780415502306Publication Date: 2013-02-14 -
From Ritual to Theatre: The Human Seriousness of Play
by
Call Number: PN1643.T97ISBN: 0933826176Publication Date: 2001
Feminist theory & theatre
-
The Routledge Reader in Gender and Performance
by
Call Number: onlineISBN: 0203271254Publication Date: 1998 -
Performing Feminisms: Feminist Critical Theory & Theatre
by
Call Number: PN1590.W64 P4 1990ISBN: 0801839696Publication Date: 1990-01-01 -
Feminism and Theatre
by
Call Number: PN1590.W64 C37 2008ISBN: 9780230521179Publication Date: 2008-03-15 -
The Feminist Spectator As Critic
by
Call Number: PN2270.F45 D64 2012ISBN: 9780472035199Publication Date: 2012-10-24 -
An Introduction to Feminism and Theatre
by
Call Number: PN1590.W64 A88 1994ISBN: 0415087694Publication Date: 1994-12-21
Critical theory primary texts
-
-
-
Is There a Text in This Class?
by
Call Number: PN81.F56ISBN: 0674467256Publication Date: 1980-11-28
-
Practicing New Historicism
by
Call Number: PN81 .G237 2000ISBN: 0226279340Publication Date: 2000-06-15 -
-
Queering the Renaissance
by
Call Number: HQ76.3.E8 Q44 1994ISBN: 0822313855Publication Date: 1993-12-13 -
-
Jean Baudrillard
by
Call Number: HM15 .B3813 2001ISBN: 0804742731Publication Date: 2002Chapter 4 is titled "The Mirror of Production" -
Databases
Find literary criticism and other articles about theatre & performance in the following databases:
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowIndex to scholarly articles, books, book chapters and dissertations published about literature, including plays.
-
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index to articles, books, book chapters and dissertations on theatre, dance and performance from 1983 to the present. Some full text.
-
Project MUSE - Standard Collection This link opens in a new windowFull text of over 400 high quality, scholarly journals, including many titles for theater.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowOver 1,000 full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities and social sciences. All journals are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s.
Primary Resources in Theatre
Primary theatre sources that are at or close to BGSU.
-
Rodolfo Usigli Archive: Theater of the New World at Miami University"Diplomat, translator, historian, drama critic, but above all playwright, Rodolfo Usigli can be described as 'one of the founders of modern Mexican drama.'"
-
Special Collections at Kent State UniversityScroll down to Performing Arts to collections related to theater
Specialized databases
-
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Digital Theatre+ is a leading resource for theatre and performance studies, offering access to world-class productions, practitioner interviews, and educational resources. The platform includes a broad range of content on acting, directing, technical theatre, movement, and theatre history to support teaching and learning.
-
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIndex to more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses written from 1861 to the present for universities all over the world, with full text access to most.
-
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Over one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching.
All users must register for a personal Artstor account in order to download images. Use the "register" link at the upper right after accessing the database. Licensed for BGSU Main Campus Users only.
-
OnTheBoards.tv This link opens in a new window
Full-length, high quality video of contemporary performance of theater, dance, and music.
-
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowIndex to articles published in the popular press between 1890 and 1982, from titles like Harper's, The New Republic, and The Saturday Evening Post.
-
Art Full Text & Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Indexing for hundreds of international art publications, including peer-reviewed journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, with full text provided for many.
Reference books
-
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance
by
Call Number: REF PN2035 .O94 2003, 2 volsISBN: 0198601743Publication Date: 2003 -
-
World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre - Europe
by
Call Number: PN1861 .W67 1994, vols 1-6ISBN: 9780415059282Publication Date: 1995 -
The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama
by
Call Number: REF PN1861 .C65 2007, 2 volsISBN: 0231140320Publication Date: 2007 -
-
-
-
American Playwrights since 1945
by
Call Number: Z1231.D7A531989ISBN: 0313255431Publication Date: 1989 -
-
European Drama Criticism, 1900-1975
by
Call Number: REF Z 5781 .P2ISBN: 0208015892Publication Date: 1977 -
Modern Drama Scholarship and Criticism, 1981-1990
by
Call Number: PN 1851 .C37ISBN: 080200914XPublication Date: 1996 -
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama
Call Number: REF PN 1625.G7 1984, 5 volsISBN: 0070791694Publication Date: 1984 -
Who Was Who in the Theatre
by
Call Number: REF PN2597.W52, 4 volsISBN: 0810304066Publication Date: 1978 -
Research Guide to Biography and Criticism: World Drama
by
Call Number: PN1721.R47 1986ISBN: 9780933833067Publication Date: 1986
