Databases
Try these databases first to find articles for research in theatre & production. More database suggestions and specific journals are listed on the Theatre History, Criticism & Theory page.
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full TextIndex to articles, books, book chapters and dissertations on theater, dance and performance from 1983 to the present. Some full text.
- MLA International BibliographyA detailed index to journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations published on subjects in modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
- Project MUSE - Standard CollectionAn interdisciplinary collection of hundreds of high quality, peer reviewed, scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. All titles in the Standard Collection are full text.
- OnTheBoards.tvFull-length, high quality video of contemporary performance of theater, dance, and music.
- Chicago Manual of Style OnlineThe 18th Edition of the Chicago Manual of Style, a citation and presentation style often used in the Arts & Humanities.
Special collections
Don't forget our Special Collections!
You may not be able to take all of these materials out of the library, but you can usually photograph, copy or scan them.
The Ray & Pat Browne Popular Culture Library, on the 4th floor, has a wealth of visual materials, including graphic novels, zines, comic books, posters, postcards, magazines and more.
The Music Library & Bill Schurk Sound Archives, on the 3rd floor, has album art, posters, and zines as well as music.
The Curriculum Resource Center, on the 2nd floor, has puppets, games, picture files, illustrated children's books, pop-up books, K-12 teaching aids, and the Ellison Machine, which will punch out an amazing variety of shapes from paper or cloth.
