Using Databases to Find Scholarly Articles
Databases are collections of scholarly articles or other resources. They are usually subject-specific, like Communication & Mass Media Complete, the premier database for all communication research. Alternatively, it has become more popular to search multiple databases at once using a generic EBSCO or Summon search. The advantages of this approach are that it's easy to get started and the number of search results is increased because of the interdisciplinary approach. The downside is if you want to ensure that your results are relevant to your area/discipline of study.
Usually, you want to start with a database when you are searching for a topic. If you are interested in browsing research to get ideas for topics or to just learn new developments in the field, you should start with the journals tab of this guide. Also, start with journals if you already have a citation for a specific article.
General Databases
- A-Z databases listAlphabetical list of research databases provided by BGSU Libraries
- EBSCO databasesAlmost all of our library databases combined into one search! Limit to scholarly articles on the left hand side for high quality information.
Video Collections
- Kanopy
A streaming service for thousands of videos from major educational film producers and distributors. See our Kanopy LibGuide for more information.
- AvalonAvalon is an online service that provides round-the-clock access to streaming audio and video content. This content includes some course reserve materials, library-owned items, and locally created content from campus departments.
Other Subject Databases
- SocINDEX with Full TextIndex to scholarly publications in sociology, covering topics such as criminal justice, marriage and family, social work, substance abuse, and violence.
- PsycINFO 1887-CurrentThe premier index to journal articles and other scholarly publications in the field of psychology.
- LGBTQ+ SourceIndexing, abstracts and full text for journal, magazine, and newspaper articles on LGBTQ+ topics and issues.
- Gender Studies DatabaseIndex to articles, books and book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations and more dealing with topics in women's studies, men's studies and sexual diversity issues.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)Index to articles, books, and other publications about the nature and use of language. Topics include phonetics, phonology, syntax, and semantics.
How to Use EBSCO Databases
Media & Communication Databases
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteIndexing, abstracts and full text for journals in communication studies, covering topics such as journalism, mass media, and communicative disorders.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Books and articles covering research in television and film.
- Advertising Age
Advertising Age, with Datacenter, provides news, reports, and statistics about the advertising industry. It covers strategic topics for marketers, including breaking news, creative companies, and original rankings. Access articles and data on marketing, media, and agencies. For off-campus access follow the database link and then create an account with the “register for free” link in the top right corner. Be sure to register with your BGSU email address to get free access through the library.
- A-Z Databases: Communication & MediaA list of all communication & media databases that the library subscribes to
Business & Consumer Databases
- MintelResearch reports covering US and International marketplaces.
- PollstarPollstarPro is a database of worldwide concert tour schedules, ticket sales results, music industry contact directories, trade news and specialized data services. Access to this resource is by password only. To obtain the password, log in to our resources site. Contact the Research and Information Desk for more information.
- MarketLine AdvantageCompany, industry and country information for US and global business. Includes in-depth analyst reports and statistics.
Linking Google Scholar to BGSU Libraries
Google Scholar (scholar.google.com) can be a great resource when searching for Academic Journal articles. However, many of the articles it discovers are not freely available on the internet, though you might have access through BGSU University Libraries. How do you know which articles BGSU provides access to? Set your Google Scholar Library Links Setting to Bowling Green State University - Find it! at BGSU.
From the Google Scholar search page, open the menu on the top left corner and select Settings (depending on screen size, you might just see a cog icon). Then click on Library Links and search for, select, and save Bowling Green State University - Find It! at BGSU.
Now on your Google Scholar results list, a Find it! at BGSU link will appear when the article is available through a BGSU subscription.
