About Journal Rankings
The following list organizes key communication journals by their 2021 SJR ranking. Scimago Journal Rank is a publicly available portal that includes the journals developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database. The ranking accounts for the number of citations received and the prestige of the journal. Journal Citation Reports, another resource for evaluating journal prestige is available as a BGSU subscription and there are additional resources on the Publishing/Metrics tab of this guide.
- Journals by TitleNavigate all BGSU journal subscriptions by title of publication.
- Journals by Title: Communication & Mass MediaA list of journals that BGSU subscribes to that publish in the disciplines of communication and mass media.
- Communication Journal Publishing GuideThis guide, created by Dr. Louisa Ha and BGSU graduate students, provides information and analysis on top Communication Journals.
- Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports is an evaluative tool used to determine the most frequently cited, highest impact, or largest journals in an academic field, covering 2004 to 2 years ago.
Communication Journals Ranked >2
- Communication Methods and Measures
SJR: 3.719 Aims to bring developments in methodology, both qualitative and quantitative, to the attention of communication scholars, to provide an outlet for discussion and dissemination of methodological tools and approaches to researchers across the field. - Digital Journalism
SJR: 3.480 Provides a critical forum for scholarly discussion, analysis and responses to the wide ranging implications of digital technologies, along with economic, political and cultural developments, for the practice and study of journalism. - Political Communication
SJR: 3.371 Examines the roles of governmental, intergovernmental, and nongovernmental organizations as political communicators. - International Journal of Press/Politics
SJR: 3.096 Analyzes the interaction of the press, politics and public policymaking. Covers a broad spectrum of intellectual disciplines including political communications, journalism and public policy, international news, race, gender and the press, and campaigns and elections. - New Media & Society
SJR: 3.055 Provides an interdisciplinary forum for the examination of the social dynamics of media and information change. - Research on Language and Social Interaction
SJR: 2.909 Provides the dissemination of work that adds to our knowledge about language and social interaction. - Applied Linguistics
SJR: 2.717 Provides the dissemination of work that adds to our knowledge about language and social interaction. - Journal of Advertising
Features articles that contribute to the development of advertising theory and its relationship to advertising practices and processes. SJR: 2.701 - Journal of Communication
SJR:2.580 Concerned with the study of communication research, theory, history and policy. - Communication Monographs
SJR: 1.039 Features theoretically grounded research dealing with human symbolic exchange across the broad spectrum of interpersonal, group, organizational, cultural and mediated contexts in which such activities occur. - Public Opinion QuarterlySJR: 2.389 Devoted to research in public opinion. Covers survey methods, communication, and propaganda.
- Communication Research
SJR: 2.580 Provides an interdisciplinary forum for scholars and professionals to present new research in communication. - Vehicular Communications
SJR: 2.059 Vehicular communications is a growing area of communications between vehicles and including roadside communication infrastructure. - Big Data & Society
SJR: 2.040 Q1 The Journal's key purpose is to provide a space for connecting debates about the emerging field of Big Data practices and how they are reconfiguring academic, social, industry, business and governmental relations, expertise, methods, concepts and knowledge
Communication Journals Ranked <2
- Information Communication and Society
SJR: 1.968 Explores a diverse range of issues relating to the development and application of information and communications technologies. - Public Relations Review
SJR:1.829 Contains analyses of measurements and evaluations, public relations education, public policy, history and bibliographies. - Digital Communications and Networks
SJR: 1.813 Focuses on emerging methodologies and techniques in the field of digital communication systems and networks. - Journal of Interactive Advertising
SJR: 1.813 Designed to promote our understanding of interactive advertising, marketing, and communication in a networked world. - Social Media and Society
SJR: 1.813 Focuses on advancing the understanding of social media and its impact on societies past, present and future. - Journalism
SJR: 1.802 Contributes to the social, economic, political, cultural and practical understanding of journalism, covering current developments and historical changes within the field. - Journalism Studies
SJR: 1.764 Addresses journalism topics of interest in all media worldwide. - European Journal of Communication
SJR:1.762 Represents communication theory and research in Europe in all its diversity. Promotes interchange among European scholars of different intellectual traditions and national backgrounds. - Journalism and Mass Communication Quarterly
SJR:1.745 Focuses on research in journalism and mass communication including reports of original investigation, presenting the latest developments in theory and methodology of communication, international communication, journalism history, and social and legal problems. - International Journal of Advertising
SJR:1.741 Aimed at both academics and practitioners. It is international in scope and covers a wide range of advertising and marketing issues, including: advertising technologies, role of the media, market sectors, advertising effectiveness, agency relationships and marketing. - Media Psychology
SJR: 1.738 Publishes theoretical and empirical research in the area where the fields of psychology and media communication intersect. - Human Communication Research
SJR: 1.733 Publishes important research and reports that contribute to the expanding body of knowledge about human communication. - Telematics and Informatics
SJR: 1.690 Contains information on applied telecommunications and information technology, policy and legislation resource management. Examines the resulting socio-economic implications. - Communication Theory
SJR:1.627 Contributes to the theoretical development and integration of communications. Covers transcending methodological provinces, geographical boundaries and media specialization. - Internet Research
SJR: 1.618 Covers developments in information technology and communication, focusing on the use of tele communications networks to provide information services and products. Publishes papers on policy and technical issues affecting electronic networks and potential applications.
Communication Journals Ranked <1.6
- Media, Culture and Society
SJR: 1.554 Provides an international forum for the presentation of research and discussion concerning the media, including the newer information and communication technologies, within their political, economic, cultural and historical contexts. - Mass Communication and Society
SJR:1.497 Examines mass communication theory from a multitude of approaches and perspectives. - Discourse Studies
SJR: 1.390 Publishes notable research on the structures of written and spoken discourse, with emphasis on cross-disciplinary studies of text and talk linguistics, anthropology, ethnomethodology, cognitive and social psychology, communication studies and law. - International Journal of Strategic Communication
SJR: 1.389 Aims at fostering understanding of the processes, prospects, and challenges of communication for organizations in a changing global society. - Comunicar (Spanish Language w/ English Abstracts)
SJR: 1.382 A media education research journal that focuses on educommunication. - Journal of Advertising Research
SJR: 1.332 Provides information to professionals in all areas of marketing including media, research, advertising and communications. - Journal of Social and Personal Relationships
SJR: 0.982 Multidisciplinary examination of personal relationships, drawing on materials from the fields of social, clinical and developmental psychology, communications, and sociology. - Group Processes and Intergroup Relations
SJR: 1.269 Focuses on basic and applied aspects of group and intergroup phenomena, ranging from small interactive groups to large scale social categories. - Journalism & Communication Monographs
SJR: 1.238 Provides a venue for scholarly works, particularly those that provide a critical or applied synthesis of significant scholarship. - Journalism Practice
SJR: 1.187 Provides opportunities for reflective, critical and research-based studies focused on the professional practice of journalism. - Mobile Media & Communication
SJR: 1.127 Examines the phenomenon of mobility in communication – that is, what is understood as mobile media and communication, but also emerging phenomena such as mobile and ubiquitous computing. - Health Communication
SJR:1.103: Features articles from scholars in communication, psychology, medicine, nursing and allied health fields. - Poetics
SJR: 1.102 Covers theoretical and empirical research in literature, the media and the arts.