LibGuides: Media and Communication Graduate Courses: News & Statistics

Databases with Full Text Current Newspapers

These databases are available only to students, faculty and staff of Bowling Green State University and walk-in users.

Global Newsstream, 1980 - present
Contains indexed and fully searchable electronic copies of articles from around 560 United States state, regional, national, and international newspapers. Articles from approximately 300 newspapers are fully reproduced. A few of the titles: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post.
Nexis Uni (Formally LexisNexis), 1977 - present
Full-text newspapers, business information, and legal publications, including current news, company profiles, industry information, and federal and state laws and legislation.
Ethnic NewsWatch, 1959 - present
A database that searches the full text of newspapers, magazines and journals published by the ethnic, minority and native press of the United States.
Newspaper Source, 1985 - present (some coverage back to 1960).
Full text for 185 national and international newspapers, selected full text for 392 regional U.S. newspapers, and full text newswires, transcripts, etc.

Broadcast News

TV News Archive
Search closed captions from US TV News. View clips from 1,429,000 shows since 2009. Share custom show clips and track their popularity
Borrow a DVD of any full show.
You could also try.... NexisUni
Search using the "News" limiter on the homepage. On the left hand of the results page narrow by "News Transcripts".

Statistics and Data Resources

Social Explorer
Social Explorer provides quick and easy access to modern and historical socioeconomic and demographic data, bringing together quantitative data with a visual interface to make demographic research, the analysis of social trends, and comparison of neighborhoods, communities, counties, and other areas accessible and interactive.
Statista
Statista is an online statistics portal providing access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions.
data.census.gov
This resource replaces the now defunct American FactFinder. This is the U.S. Census Bureau's main vehicle for distributing U.S. census data, including economic censuses and surveys and annual population estimates. Population, housing, economic and geographic data can be found here.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
A vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, containing thousands of digital files of social science research data in political science, sociology, economics, criminal justice, and more.
Sage Data Foundations
Sage Data Foundations is a dynamic tool which enables users to scan and search the contents of billions of datasets from the United States. Results can be compared and contrasted, and viewed in customizable tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations, as well as Woods & Poole Economics, Inc.

Free Online Newspaper Subscriptions

Sign Up for a Free Wall Street Journal account!
You can sign up for a free account for the Wall Street Journal online edition with your BGSU email. Click on the above link to learn how.
New York Times
This page describes how to access the New York Times for research AND you can sign up for the New York Times app with your BGSU email for free through BGSU's subscription.

Media and Communication Graduate Courses: News & Statistics

Why Use Databases for News and Statistics?

Databases with Full Text Current Newspapers

Broadcast News

Statistics and Data Resources

Free Online Newspaper Subscriptions