International Studies: Country Research

The 2020 Human Development Report explores a suite of metrics for measuring human development.
The four dimensions are status of human development, energy systems, material cycles and transforming our future. The 21 indicators were chosen in part based on data availability.

Each country overview contains a map and information about people, geography, the economy, government, communication, transportation, and the military. This Central Intelligence Agency publication is available free on the Internet.

Locate the Country Reports option on the top bar or search for your country of interest. Statista has statistical information on countries in visual formats ready to be included in presentations.

Track progress and trends on achieving the Sustainable Development Goals for all 193 UN Member States

Pew Research Center conducts public opinion surveys around the world on a broad array of subjects ranging from people's assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day. The Global Indicators Database contains data from nearly 600,000 interviews in 64 countries.

Search or browse by country or indicator.

Basic facts, political information and media for each country, with links to recent news stories, compiled by the BBC. The media section can be particularly useful for this course.

Information on all topics in business, including full text scholarly journal articles, company information, and industry reports. In addition to journal and magazine articles, the non-journal content includes financial data, books, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles

Countries are listed below the descriptive information or you can use the right-hand menu to choose a location.

Choose a country for a summary report and recent events on human rights in that country by category.

Choose a country and select "view more" in the overview section for the full report.

Freedom House rates people’s access to political rights and civil liberties in 210 countries and territories through its annual Freedom in the World report. Individual freedoms—ranging from the right to vote to freedom of expression and equality before the law—can be affected by state or nonstate actors. Click on a country name below to access the full country narrative report.

ICNL's Civic Freedom Monitor provides up-to-date information on legal issues affecting civil society and civic freedoms – the freedoms of association, expression and peaceful assembly. At this time, ICNL presents reports on 51 countries and 8 multilateral organizations. Each country report provides an overview of key legal issues relating to civic freedom, with a focus on legal barriers to civil society activity and civic freedom.

The Index ranks 180 countries and regions according to the level of freedom available to journalists. It is a snapshot of the media freedom situation based on an evaluation of pluralism, independence of the media, quality of legislative framework and safety of journalists in each country and region.

The EPI provides a quantitative basis for comparing, analyzing, and understanding environmental performance for 180 countries.

The Food Sustainability Index is a ranking of 34 countries on food system sustainability. It was created as a quantitative and qualitative benchmarking model, constructed from 58 indicators that measure the sustainability of food systems across three themes: Food Loss and Waste, Sustainable Agriculture, and Nutritional Challenges. The index contains three types of key performance indicators: environmental, societal, and economic.