Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theatre and Performance Studies Resources: Plays: Finding Plays & Monologues

For those needing information on theatre and performance studies resources

Browsing in the library

Scripts and plays can be found in the P's (literature).

Greek and Roman theatre: PA's

  • Greek: PA3050-PA4505 (range 121)
  • Roman: PA6000-6971 (ranges 121-122)

Asian theatre: PL's

  • Chinese: PL2000-3208 (range 125)
  • Japanese: PL700-889 (range 125)

Monologues: PN2080s (range 131)

Collections of plays

  • General: PN6110-6120 (ranges 134-135)
  • French: PQ1211-1241 (range 135)
  • English: PR621-744 (range 139)
  • American: PS623-635 (range 147)
  • German: PT1251-1299 (range 154)

Collections of plays by English and American playwrights

  • English: PR621-744 (range 139)
  • American: PS330-353 (range 146)

Shakespeare: PR2750-3112 (ranges 140-141)

Online databases

Full-text plays written between the 13th century and 1911 can be found in the following databases:

Find songs

Are you looking for the perfect song for your voice and audition type? Our new database can help you find the right one!

Using the catalog and OhioLINK

Search Summon by title or author, then limit to books.

Summon screenshot: To find plays in Summon, limit your search to 'Books'.

To find monologues, search the catalog by subject word "monologues." Don't forget the "s!"

Catalog screenshot: In the catalog, do an advanced search for 'monologues' as a SUBJECT and limit to the 1st & 8th floor general collection.

You can also start your searches in OhioLINK and request items from libraries all over Ohio.

Indexes of plays