Journalism Librarian
Chat With Us
Introduction
This Research Guide is designed to help you identify newspapers and other news sources for the assignments in this class.
Please note that many of the newspaper collections owned by the University Libraries are available in microfilm or microfiche, and require you to visit the Libraries or Archives to use. The Archives are not open all the times the Libraries are; check the Archives hours here.
Databases
-
America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly journal articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
-
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracts and full text for journals in communication studies, covering topics such as journalism, mass media, and communicative disorders.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Over a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s. JSTOR now also hosts the complete ArtSTOR collection.
-
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracts and full text for journal, magazine, and newspaper articles on LGBTQ+ topics and issues.
-
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, books and book chapters, proceedings, research reports, dissertations and more on topics in women's studies and feminist research.
Other Helpful Guides
Though the above guide is for a different class, it contains links to news sources for various minority groups that may be useful for your assignments in this class.