Research Guides: JOUR 4650: American Journalism History: Contemporary News Sources

News Databases

AAPI Media Map & Directory
Comprising 653 outlets in 35 states and Washington, D.C., four Pacific Islands, and three international locations, the AAPI Media Directory and accompanying map feature outlets serving AAPI communities locally, nationally, and even in global diasporas, in both traditional and digital media, and in 54 languages.

Ethnic NewsWatch

A database that searches the full text of newspapers, magazines and journals published by the ethnic, minority and native press of the United States.
Newspaper Source

Full text for hundreds of regional, national, and international newspapers, and complete television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more.

Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyze, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein
Nexis Uni

The database formerly named LexisNexis Academic is now called Nexis Uni! Contains full-text newspapers, business information, and legal publications, including current news, company profiles, industry information, and federal and state laws and legislation.

1980s to present
ProQuest Global Newsstream

An online newspaper resource that includes international, national and regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post.

Zona Latina: Latin American Newspapers (USA)
A list of Hispanic/Latina newspapers published in the U.S., with links to their websites.

BG News (1920-current)
Full-text scans of the BGSU daily campus newspaper, BG News, hosted in ScholarWorks@BGSU. Full-text-searchable, each issue can be printed or downloaded as a PDF. Content goes back to 1920, and is updated regularly with the latest issues.

Coverage: 1920-current
BG News Index
BG News Index contains citations (titles, dates, and beginning page numbers) to articles appearing in the BG News. Items not indexed include: wire service articles (for example, Associated Press (AP) articles, syndicated columns, reprinted editorials from other newspapers, etc.), the Calendar of Events pages (bi-weekly supplement listing special events), most reports of games, most photographs, and most locally-produced articles with no by-line.

Full-text scans are also available at the ScholarWorks@BGSU BG News collection, covering years from 1920 to 2012.
BG News Online
BG News Online is the electronic version of the daily campus newspaper. Use the BG News Index to locate stories in older editions of the paper.
Full-text scans are also available at the ScholarWorks@BGSU BG News collection, covering years from 1920 to 2012.

Full-text scans are also available at the ScholarWorks@BGSU BG News collection, covering years from 1920 to current.

Internet Archive's TV News Archive

Internet Archive's TV News Archive provides free access to more than a million closed captioned clips from TV news shows dating back to 2009, with options to filter by network, show, or date range.
JSTOR
JSTOR hosts the complete ArtSTOR collection, which includes hover 2 million images and photographs. To access this collection, click on the "Images" tab above the search bar on the JSTOR homepage.