LibGuides: Newspapers: Home

Newspapers available through University Library Databases

African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
The full text of hundreds of U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states published by African Americans, dating from 1827 to 1998.
Coverage: 1827-1898
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside
A full text archive of hundreds of newspapers published in U.S. prisons since 1800.
BG News Online
BG News Online is the electronic version of the daily campus newspaper. Use the BG News Index to locate stories in older editions of the paper.
Full-text scans are also available at the ScholarWorks@BGSU BG News collection, covering years from 1920 to 2012.
Full-text scans are also available at the ScholarWorks@BGSU BG News collection, covering years from 1920 to current.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search and view the full text of hundreds of digitized historical newspapers from 42 states, with titles dating from 1789-1963, provided free by the Library of Congress.
Cincinnati Enquirer (1872-1922)
Full text for several newspaper titles published in Cincinnati between 1872 and 1922.
Detroit Free Press (1831-1922)
Full text for several newspaper titles published in Detroit between 1831 and 1922.
Independent Voices
An open access collection of alternative press material.
NewspaperArchive.com
Searchable full text for hundreds of historical newspapers published in Ohio between 1800-2010. Search or browse 19th and 20th century Ohio newspapers and view full-page pdf images.
Coverage: 1800-2010
Newspaper Source
Full text for hundreds of regional, national, and international newspapers, and complete television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more.
New York Times Historical
The entire contents of the New York Times from 1851 to three years ago.
ProQuest Global Newsstream
An online newspaper resource that includes international, national and regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post.
Regional Business News
Indexing and full text news from hundreds of business news sources across the globe.
Sentinel Tribune Index
Maintained by Wood County District Public Library, this database provides a partial indexing of articles of local historical interest found in the Sentinel-Tribune from the 1960’s to 1995, and comprehensive coverage from 1995 to the present.
WCDPL Digital Newspaper Archives
This platform covers Bowling Green area newspapers from 1867 to 1958 with complete coverage of the Bradner Advocate and the Risingsun Unique Weekly. To view the complete newspaper collection on microfilm, visit the Local History Collection at the Wood County District Public Library in person.

The Blade: Toledo Newspaper
The Blade is the regional newspaper publication for the Toledo metro area. BGSU subscribes to the Toledo Blade through ProQuest's Global Newsroom database. Articles will appear in full text, but may not include images originally published.

Historical Newspapers available in the Center for Archival Collections

Ohio Cities Newspaper Index
Entries first are arranged by the city in which the newspaper was published, then alphabetically by the most recent title used by the newspaper. The data following the title includes frequency, type of newspaper (e.g., general, collegiate, religious, etc.), its editorial politics, its title variations, and special notes on mergers or other information. Finally, the CAC holdings are listed.
Civil War Newspapers
This index, prepared by Dan Masters, records soldiers' correspondence printed in area newspapers during the Civil War. Researchers should be aware that this index does not necessarily represent the holdings of the Center for Archival Collections.
WWI Correspondence Index
Local newspapers frequently printed letters from local soldiers to provide more in-depth coverage of war news. These indexes, prepared by Dan Masters, Steve Badenhop, and Alexandra Hutchings, record soldiers' correspondence printed in area newspapers during World War I. Researchers should be aware that these indexes do not necessarily represent the holdings of the Center for Archival Collections.