Finding Articles Written in Spanish
| SPAN 3780 Dr. Grinberg Pla |
|
The University Libraries subscribes to or owns a considerable amount of information written in Spanish. In most cases, you can conduct your search in English and limit your results to Spanish language. I give specific directions for each of the databases I have recommended.
For your presentation in SPAN 3780, I suggest that that you start by searching for articles and, if you're not finding enough information, branch out and search for books.
Core Database: Fuente Academica
A unique collection of scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin
American and Spanish publishers. This database provides full text
coverage (including PDF) for nearly 200 scholarly Spanish language
journals. Content is provided in Spanish from respected publishers
worldwide.
Almost all articles are in Spanish, but you can search in Spanish or English. How is this possible? Although most articles are in Spanish, indexing and abstracting are in English and Spanish.
Core Database: Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is multi-disciplinary full-text database that includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, of which 4,400 are peer-reviewed journals. This is a great resource for finding articles on any topic. Indexing and abstracting in this database is in English, even when an article is written in another language.
To find articles written in Spanish, conduct your search in English and then, once you have a list of results, click on the Search Options and then from the Language list, select Spanish. Another strategy is to search using Spanish search terms. For your search to be comprehensive, you will want to search both ways.
Core Database: JSTOR
JSTOR, short for Journal Storage, contains the full text of scholarly journals in humanities, sciences, and social sciences. The collection's strengths include art, economics, history, literature, and mathematics. The titles included in JSTOR go back to the first issue of a journal, although the most recent 3 to 5 years are not included in this archive.
JSTOR is a great place to search for interdisciplinary topics such as this assignment. JSTOR searches the entire text of articles, so sometimes the results may not be what you intend and you may need to try a few different search terms to find the information for which you are looking.
To find articles written in Spanish, use the advanced search feature and select Spanish from the drop-down list of languages.
Other Databases to Consider
Depending on your topic, you may want to search one of the following databases. All of these databases have some Spanish-language materials.
America: History & Life
A comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. AHL offers abstracts and citations for articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences.
To find articles written in Spanish, conduct your search in English and then, once you have a list of results, click on the Search Options and then from the Language list, select Spanish. Another strategy is to search using Spanish words. For your search to be comprehensive, you will want to search both ways.
Art Abstracts/Full Text
Indexes over 400 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Entries in the database also cite any art reproductions used to illustrate articles and advertisements, under the artists' names and covers titles published in European languages, as well as English-language sources.
Click on Show Limit Options and choose Spanish from the drop-down Language box.
ARTstor
ARTstor contains image collections -- photographs of works of art, architecture, sculpture, and artists -- from museums and archives. Search for particular artists or by country to find images of art to use for your project.
Economia y Negocios
This database is produced in Peru by ESAN (Escuela de Administración de Negocios para Graduados), the oldest graduate school of business in the Spanish-speaking world. This Spanish-language database, which focuses on business and economics, consists of more than 60,000 bibliographic records. Coverage dates back to the early 1980s and includes over 200 periodicals published in Latin America and Spain.
All in Spanish.
Education Research Complete
A comprehensive database of articles about all fields of education, including curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. Most coverage is from 1925 to present, but some titles go back as far as 1882.
Most of the articles in the database are in English, but some are in Spanish. To limit to articles in Spanish add (ZL "spanish") to your search.
EXAMPLE: (ZL "spanish") and escuela
Ethnic NewsWatch
A full text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press of the United States. The database provides articles from 200 publications in English and Spanish and is completely searchable in both languages.
Use the Document Language drop-down search box on the Advanced Search page.
Humanities International Complete
A searchable database of the full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Covers all fields of the humanities.
Most of the articles in the database are in English, but some are in Spanish. To limit to articles in Spanish add (ZL "spanish") to your search.
EXAMPLE: (ZL "spanish") and cervantes
International Political Science Abstracts
Includes current indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals
in political science. This database covers nearly 900 journals
published from 1989 to the present.
Use Spanish search terms to retrieve articles written in Spanish. There is no search option for limiting to Spanish in this database.
Select Web Sites
- Country Studies by the Library of Congress This site provides a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and instritutions of countries throughout the world. (Not all countries are included.)
- LANIC: Latin American Network Information Center
Contains extensive links to information about/from Latin American countries. Now provides links to several digital initiatives: LANIC Etext Collection, Open Archives Portal (grey literature), and more.
Finding Books
For your project, you may want to use articles because they tend to be shorter and more focused than a book. However, books can be a great source of background information.
To find books written in Spanish, you can use Spanish words or you can search using English words and limit your results to Spanish language.
Contact Information
Library Liaison:
Amy Fyn
Email: afyn@bgsu.edu
Phone: 419.372.2869
Description
Loading content... please wait











Loading content... please wait