Books
Unlike journal articles, books:
- are written on a broader, general subject
- may contain a collection of related chapters by different authors
- may contain background information and context about your topic
- contain less recent information
You may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book! Find relevant information quickly by reviewing chapter titles or checking the index (back of the book).
eBooks
The library provides access to more than 55,000 eBooks from a variety of sources. For information about e-books provided by BGSU Libraries, use the online guide provided at the link below.
Find books: Start here
- BGSU Libraries CatalogSearch for books, videos, music scores, CDs, journals & newspapers, and archival and special collections available at the BGSU Libraries.
Search the catalog with keywords about your topic, book title, or author name.
Find books: Try OhioLINK
If BGSU does not own the book you need, try the OhioLINK catalog. If the book is available at another university in Ohio, they will send it to BGSU for you in 3-5 business days.
Find background information: Use reference books
Reference books provide background and context such as definitions, overviews of concepts, and widely accepted knowledge, along with important people and events.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by Call Number: REF RC455.2.C4 D536 2013ISBN: 9780890425541Publication Date: 2013-05-22This is new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations.
Handbook of International Social Work by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780195333619Publication Date: 2011-10-20
A Dictionary of Public Health by Call Number: REF RA423 .L37 2007ISBN: 0195160908Publication Date: 2006-11-23
Encyclopedia of Geropsychology by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9789812870810Publication Date: 2017-01-19
Encyclopedia of Health and Aging by Call Number: REF RA777.6 .E534 2007ISBN: 9781412909495Publication Date: 2007-04-13
Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, and Recovery by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781412950848Publication Date: 2008-11-12
Handbook of Evidence-Based Practices in Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9783319265810Publication Date: 2016-05-23
International Encyclopedia of Public Health by Call Number: REF RA423 .I68 2008 v.1-6ISBN: 9780122272257Publication Date: 2008-09-12
