Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
TV News Archive
Search closed captions from US TV News. View clips from 1,429,000 shows since 2009. Share custom show clips and track their popularity
Borrow a DVD of any full show.
You could also try.... NexisUni
Search using the "News" limiter on the homepage. On the left hand of the results page narrow by "News Transcripts".
Why Use Databases to Find News?
- You won't have to pay for content!
- Find content beyond the most recent.
- Search specialized collections of news resources (i.e., student newspapers).
- Content is less likely to have been altered over time.
Databases with Full Text Current Newspapers
These databases are available onlly to students, faculty and staff of Bowling Green State University and walk-in users.
ProQuest Newstand, 1977 to present
Contains indexed and fully searchable electronic copies of articles from around 560 United States state, regional, national, and international newspapers. Articles from approximately 300 newspapers are fully reproduced. A few of the titles: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post.
Nexis Uni (Formally LexisNexis), 1977 - present
Full-text newspapers, business information, and legal publications, including current news, company profiles, industry information, and federal and state laws and legislation.
Ethnic NewsWatch, 1979 - present
A database that searches the full text of newspapers, magazines and journals published by the ethnic, minority and native press of the United States.
Newspaper Source, 1985 - present (some coverage back to 1960).
Full text for 185 national and international newspapers, selected full text for 392 regional U.S. newspapers, and full text newswires, transcripts, etc.
Selected Databases for News Magazines
Finding Subscription Magazines
A number of magazines offer their content solely or in part to subscription holders. It's likely that the BGSU Libraries or the Wood County Library have access to these publications. Search the libraries' catalogs to identify print or online subscriptions.