Historical U.S. Newspapers Online: V

Published by the Vermont Tariff Reform League

This is only an index. The database does not include the full text of the articles.

LGBT newspaper

Many years are missing

Searching is free, but there is a cost to retrieve the full text of an article.

Scroll down the page to the section of newspapers.

Most newspapers in this index are index only; no full text. The Fairfax News (1872-1875) and The Rambler, Washington Star (1912-1928) include full text.

A database of ads from 18th & 19th century Virginia newspapers for runaway and captured enslaved people

A searchable database of Virginia newspapers.

Civilian Conservation Corps newspaper

Student newspaper from the University of Virginia

Newspaper from the University of Virginia

African American newspaper
This includes only selected articles

Student newspaper from the University of Mary Washington

Scroll down to the Fredericksburg Newspapers section of this page. These are all only indexes; they don't include online full text.

This file also includes newspapers from Louisiana, Maryland, Ohio, and California.

Newspaper from Washington College

This file also includes issues of the Daily Press, published in 1873-1877 in Adrian, MI.

Student newspaper from the University of Richmond

This is only an index. The full text of the articles is not available online.

African American newspaper

Student newspaper of the College of William and Mary

This file includes only very scattered issues.

Civilian Conservation Corps newspaper