Historical U.S. Newspapers Online: M

Newspapers published in Presque Isle, Caribou, and Fort Fairfield

This is only an index. It doesn't include the full text of the article, only an abstract.

Digitized newspapers from Biddeford: Biddeford Weekly Journal, Journal Tribune, Union and Journal, Biddeford Journal, Biddeford Daily Journal

Newspapers published in Bridgton. There are also several issues of a newspaper published in Sherburne, NY.

Student newspaper from Bowdoin College

Issues of the Piscataquis Observer

A handwritten newspaper

Student newspaper from Bates College

Issues are scattered. Some years are missing.

Searching this index is free. You can pay to get the full text of the article.

This is a hand-written newspaper, but there are transcripts for the 6 issues that are online

Newspapers published in a wide variety of towns in Maryland

Newspapers published in Somerset County

Newspaper published by the U.S. General Hospital during the Civil War

African American newspaper. This is one of three separate files of the Afro American. Each of the three contains issues not in the other two.

African American newspaper. This is one of three separate files of the Afro American. Each file includes issues not in the other two, so you need to use all three to see all issues.

African American newspaper. There are three separate files of the Afro American. Each of these files includes issues not available in the other two files, so you need to use all three to see all of the available issues.

African American newspaper

African American newspaper

This file also includes newspapers from Louisiana, Virginia, Ohio, and California.

"An independent labor paper for union information and labor education for all workers of hand and brain"

Lutheran newspaper

This file also includes issues of the Sunday Herald published in Bridgeport, CT 1949-1963 and the Sunday Herald published in Norwalk, CT 1972.

Student newspaper from Washington College

This site provides an index to the Hagerstown newspapers; it does not include the full text of the articles.

This is an index to the Saint Mary's Beacon. It doesn't include the full text of the articles.

Newspapers from Queen Anne's County.

Student newspapers from Towson University (formerly Maryland State Normal School and Stat teachers College at Towson)

The scrapbooks consist primarily of newspaper clipping taken from Boston newspapers.

A database of information from Massachusetts newspapers. Searching is free, but you must pay for the full text article.

Portuguese language newspapers. Includes newspapers from California and Massachusetts.

College newspaper of Massachusetts Agricultural College.

College newspaper of the Massachusetts Agricultural College.

Student newspaper of the Massachusetts Agricultural College.

Some years this was titled the Massachusetts Daily Collegian. Student newspapers from the University of Massachusetts Amherst.

An ephemeral student newspaper from Massachusetts Agricultural College.

An ephemeral newspaper created at Massachusetts State College in 1939.

Newspapers include the Andover Townsman, the Andover Advertiser, and the Lawrence American.

Most issues are 1980 - present

Student newspaper of Newton College of the Sacred Heart

This site includes only a few issues of the newspaper.

Latvian language newspaper

This collection includes issues, published 1765-1778, of the Boston Chronicle, the Boston Evening-Post, the Boston Gazette and Country Journal, the Boston Post-Boy & Advertiser, the Boston Weekly News-Letter, the Continental Journal and Weekly Advertiser, the Essex Gazette, the Massachusetts Gazette, the Massachusetts Gazette and Boston News-Letter, the Massachusetts Gazette and Boston Weekly News-Letter, the Massachusetts Gazette and Boston Post-Boy and Advertiser, the New-England Chronicle, and the New-England Chronicle, or the Essex Gazette.

Underground newspaper

Episcopal Church newspaper

Includes Heights (1919-2010), Boston College newspaper; 885 (1946-1975) Newton College of the Sacred Heart student newspaper; and Sacred Heart Review (1888-1918) Catholic newspaper published in East Cambridge

Irish American newspaper.
Information Wanted: a searchable database of ads looking for missing Irish immigrants, 1831-1921.

Catholic newspaper

A newspaper published by the Church of Christ, Scientist.

African American student newspaper from Boston College

The first French language newspaper published in Boston.

Congregationalist newspaper

This file is mistakenly titled New Year's Transcript.

Arabic language newspaper
"Syrian semi-weekly newspaper"

Italian and English language newspaper

African American newspaper

Many issues are missing

Italian language newspaper

Catholic newspaper; continued by the United States Catholic Intelligencer

Catholic newspaper; continuation of the United States Catholic Intelligencer

Jewish newspaper
Includes the Boston Jewish Times and the Jewish Weekly Times.

Antislavery newspaper

Catholic newspaper. Continuation of the Jesuit, or Catholic Sentinel

Student newspapers of the University of Massachusetts at Boston

There are only a small number of issues at this site.

There are only a few issues at this site.

Catholic newspaper

Italian American newspaper

An anti-woman suffrage newspapers, published by the Massachusetts Association Opposed to the Further Extension of Suffrage to Women

There are only a few issues at this site.

There are only a few issues at this site.

Catholic newspaper

"A semi-monthly paper, devoted to the cause of seamen--to virture--to temperance--to humanity--to intelligence"

Student newspaper from Boston College

Student newspaper from Boston College

Catholic newspaper; continuation of the Jesuit, or Catholic Sentinel; continued by the Jesuit, or Catholic Sentinel

Published by the Communist Party of America in Boston

This is only an index to newspapers published in Brookline. It doesn't include the full text of the newspapers.

Student newspaper of Harvard University

Student newspaper of Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Student newspaper from Harvard University

In order to view the newspapers, you must download a TIFF viewer.

French language newspaper

This file also includes issues of L'Independant from 1870 that were published in Quebec City, Canada.

First issues were published in Fitchburg, by the New England Workingmen's Association. It then moved to Lowell and was published by the Lowell Female Labor Reform Association.

African American newspaper
Published by the New England Freedmen's Aid Society

This file includes issues of the Greenfield Gazette and Franklin Herald, in addition to issues of the Franklin Democrat.

This newspaper had a number of titles during this time period.

Some issues titled the Gazette and Courier

There are some years missing.
French language newspaper.
This file also includes newspapers from Canada (Basse-Ville, Quebec 1883-1899 and Drummondville, Quebec 1900-1908 and Ottawa, Ontario 1910-1914)

French language newspaper

There are only a few issues at this site.

This newspaper is in a file with several newspapers from Canada. Only the issues for 1938 and 1947 are from Lowell.
French language newspaper

It was first published in Fitchburg by the New England Workingmen's Association. Then it moved to Lowell and was published by the Lowell Female Labor Reform Association.

French language newspaper

Newspaper of the Hopedale Community

Newspaper for and about the whaling industry.

There are only a few issues available.

French language newspaper

Student newspapers from Springfield College

Student newspaper from Brandeis University

Student newspaper of Wellesley College

This database includes issues of newspapers published in Wilmington.

French language newspaper

French language newspaper
This file also includes issues of L'Opinion Publique (Montreal).

French language newspaper.
This file also includes issues of Le Travailleur published in Agnes, Quebec 1898-1899 and Le Travailleur published in Chicoutimi, Quebec 1905-1912.

Searches a number of newspapers published in Benzie County.

Newspapers published in Kalkaska County, including the Leader and Kalkaskian.

This file also includes issues of the Daily Express, published in 1856 in Petersburg, VA.

Newspaper of the White Panther Party, then the Rainbow People's Party, then a left wing newspaper.

A student newspaper from the University of Michigan

Newspapers published in Ann Arbor

Antislavery newspaper

Student newspaper from the University of Michigan

Newspaper from the University of Michigan

Student newspaper from the University of Michigan

Newspaper of the Seventh Day Adventist Church

French language newspaper

Includes the Cass City Chronicle and the Cass City Enterprise

Searchable archive of the Cass City Chronicle and the Cass City Enterprise.

Student newspaper of the University of Michigan - Dearborn

African American newspaper

Student newspaper of the University of Michigan - Dearborn

Student newspaper of the University of Michigan - Dearborn

African American newspaper

Student newspaper from the University of Michigan - Dearborn

Jewish newspaper

This newspaper was published during a very long newspaper strike in Detroit.

Published by the Industrial Workers of the World

Italian and English language newspaper

Student newspaper from Central Michigan University. This site includes issues of earlier student newspapers.

Student newspaper of Michigan State University

Underground newspaper published by a Michigan State University student

Some issues are titled the Genesee Democrat.

Dutch language newspaper

Includes the Grosse Pointe News, the Grosse Pointe Review, and the Grosse Pointe Civic News

Student newspaper from Kalamazoo College

Includes newspapers from the Kalamazoo area

Alternative student newspapers from Kalamazoo College. Includes such titles as the Index Finger, Friday!, Index Seventy, the Zoo and Toad.

Many of the earlier issues are missing

Includes newspapers with various titles, such as Ludington Weekly Appeal, Ludington Record, Ludington Record Appeal, Ludington Sunday Morning News, in addition to the Ludington Daily News.

This is only an index. The full text of the articles is not included.
You can browse by year for free. You need a library card from the Grace A. Dow Memorial Library in Midland, Michigan in order to search the database.

Student newspapers from Central Michigan University

This file includes issues of the following newspapers:
Baie-St-Paul: Le Reveil de Charlevoix 1948
Fort Coulonge: Le Reveil 1962
Montreal: Le Reveil 1871, 1894-1896, 1915-1917
Muskegon, Michigan: Le Devoir 1890
Pont-Viau: Reveil Journal 1955
Quebec: Le Reveil 1876
St. Roch de Quebec: Le Reveil 1891
Ste. Therese Ouest: Le Reveil 1969-1971

A searchable database that includes 1937-2011 is available within the Otsego District Public Library.

This is only an index. It doesn't include the full text of the articles.
It is an ongoing project. When it is completed, it will include 1887-present.

This file includes only a few issues.

This database indexes newspapers published in Carver County, in addition to other documents. The full text of the articles is not included in the database.

This database includes articles 1856-present, but the articles published after 1922 can be viewed only in the Gale Family Library at the Minnesota History Center.

Includes several Native American newspapers

Searchable database of newspapers from Saint John's University in Collegeville and the College of Saint Benedict in St. Joseph

Includes issues from 1902-1903, 1911, 1938, 1941, 1948, 1951-1952, 1962-1963, 1967, 1973-1974, 1976-1978, 1983-1984, 1987-1989, 1994, 1997, 2000-2001, 2004-1009.

Some years are missing.

This file is titled Hard County Herald.
This file also includes issues for the Hart County News, published in Munfordville, KY 1931-1970.

The available years are very scattered.

This file has only scattered years between 1904-1963.

The available issues are very scattered.

French language newspaper

Swedish language newspaper; Labor newspaper

Labor movement newspaper

Student newspaper of Concordia College

Student newspaper from Carleton College

An index to the St. Cloud Times. Copies of the articles are available from the St. Cloud Public Library. This page also includes a separate index to obituaries in the St. Cloud Times 1928-2013.

Searchable database of newspapers from the College of Saint Benedict in St. Joseph and Saint John's University in Collegeville.

Labor newspapers

Newspapers published in Clarksdale, Gainsville and vicinity

Includes only a few issues

Includes only a few issues

White supremacist newspaper

White supremacist newspaper

African American newspaper

African American newspaper

Scattered issues

This file also includes issues of the Republic published in Wenatchee, WA in 1905-1906.

Student newspaper from the University of Missouri

Name index of the Jefferson County Leader and the Jefferson Democrat, organized by year. This is only an index and doesn't include the full text of the articles.

Searchable index of Jefferson County newspapers. This is only an index and doesn't include the full text of the articles.

Newspaper of the Church of Jesus Christ of the Latter-Day Saints. In 1833 moved to Kirtland, OH.

Student newspaper of Lincoln University

Newspaper published by the Socialist Party

This file includes only a few issues.

Examples of unofficial student newspapers from Missouri State University.

This is only an index and doesn't include the full text of the articles. It includes newspapers published in Springfield 1867-2002, plus some other local history sources.

Newspaper of the Missouri State University

Includes issues of various unofficial student newspapers from Missouri State University. Titles include: Standard Deviation, the Gargoyle, the Bear Ties, the Open Sesame, the Scope, the Southwest Standard, and the Student Harbinger.

Some of the issues in this file were published on days other than Sunday with the title St. Joseph Herald.

Some issues are titled St. Joseph Daily News.

German language newspaper

Newspaper of the Disciples of Christ

School newspaper from the St. Louis Country Day School

German language newspaper

This is only an index. It doesn't include the full text of the articles.

"Herausgegeben von mehreren katholischen Geistlichen Nordamerikas." German language newspaper

African American newspaper

Newspaper published by the Methodist Episcopal Church

This index of newspaper clippings includes both a name index and a subject index. The full text of the articles isn't included online.

Photographs and glass plate negatives from the files of the St. Louis Globe-Democrat

African American newspaper

Includes various student newspapers from the University of Missouri - St. Louis

Newspapers published in Trenton

This is only an index to the Montana articles in the Bozeman Daily Chronicle and the Great Falls Tribune. The database does not include full text of the articles.

Some issues are titled The Belgrade Journal.

This contains only scattered years of several newspapers published in Billings.

"The Official Newspaper of the Victory Labor-Management Production Committees of Butte, Anaconda and Great Falls, Montana.
Distributed to employees of the Anaconda Copper Mining Co.
"first known labor-management publication in the United States"

This file contains only a few issues.

African American newspaper
This file also includes issues of the Iowa Age/ Clinton Age, published in Clinton, IA in 1869-1871.

The earliest issues are titled "The Columbus Express" and were published in Columbus. The rest of the issues were titled either "The Express" or "The Big Timber Express" and were published in Big Timber.

Also called The Searchlight

This file includes only scattered issues.

Some years are missing.

Native American newspaper

This site includes only scattered issues.

This file is mistakenly titled the Sydney Herald.