A Few Reference Books That May Be Useful
Reference books are useful for identifying people, places, events, dates, etc. Many articles in reference books include a bibliography of recommended sources. Here are just a few history reference books that may be useful.
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0195167775Publication Date: 2006-04-06
Databases That Contain Theses & Dissertations
- Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)Index to more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses written from 1861 to the present for universities all over the world, with full text access to most.
- OhioLINK Electronic Theses and Dissertations
Full text doctoral dissertations, masters' theses and undergraduate honors theses from Ohio colleges and universities going back to 2000, including Bowling Green State University.
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDTLD)
A searchable digital library of electronically-published theses and dissertations dating back to 2005.
- PQDT Open 1951 - presentThousands of full-text theses and dissertations published through ProQuest's Open Access publishing model and freely accessible online.
Start Here To Search for Books
- BGSU Libraries CatalogIndexes books, magazines and journals, videos, music, and electronic resources that are owned by BGSU.
- OhioLINK Central CatalogIf BGSU doesn't own the book, try the OhioLINK Central Catalog. It contains the holdings of the libraries at more than 80 colleges and universities throughout Ohio. You can request OhioLINK books online and have them delivered in 2-4 days.
- WorldCatWorldCat is a database of the holdings of many libraries throughout North American and some other countries. If you identify a publication you want to borrow, you can use your Interlibrary Loan (ILL) account to request it.
Searching for E-Books
The library provides access to more than 50,000 books from a variety of sources. For information about ebooks, see the online guide to Ebooks.
A Few of the Bibliographies That May Be Useful
- Slave Life in America: a historiography and selected bibliography byCall Number: Main Lib - 1st Floor E443.O44 1983ISBN: 0819132853
- Slavery in the courtroom : an annotated bibliography of American cases byCall Number: Gov Docs LC1.12/2:SL1/2
- Slavery: a worldwide bibliography, 1900-1982 byCall Number: Main Lib - 8th Floor Z7164.S6M5431985ISBN: 0527636592