Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Start With These Databases
America: History & Life, 1964 - present
Citations to articles, dissertations, etc. on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts 1955 - present
Index to scholarly journal articles from international historical journals, covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Full text scholarly journals covering a variety of topics, including history. Some journals date back to the late 1700s.
Bibliography of Slavery and World Slaving
This is a free database, produced by the University of Virginia. It includes books, articles, presentations, essays, etc. The entries don't include links to available online versions.
Other Useful Databases
American Periodicals Series Online, 1741 - 1940's
Searchable database of full text articles from a wide variety of American periodicals published between 1741 and the mid 1940's. This a great place to find articles, illustrations, recipes, poems, ads, etc. published during this time period.
Humanities International Complete
A searchable database of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Covers all fields of the humanities, including history.
Web of Science, with Conference Proceedings (ISI), 1965 - present
Searches citations to scholarly articles and papers on all topics from over 10,000 journals and 110,000 conference proceedings. It includes three parts: Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present), and Science Citation Index Expanded (1965-present). This database is particularly useful for citation searching.
Summon is a new service that allows you to quickly search, discover and access reliable and credible library content in digital and print formats, audio and video, single articles and entire e-journals, and every format in between. Enter your terms in one search box, and quickly get credible results in one relevancy-ranked list.
Off-campus? Wireless? Sign in now!
Find Full Text Articles
To find full text journals, see:
Useful Print Indexes
International Index to Periodicals, 1907 - 1965
MAIN REF INDEX AI 3 .R49
Poole's Index to International Literature, 1802 - 1906
MAIN REF INDEX AI 3 .P7
Social Sciences & Humanities Index, 1965 - 1974
MAIN REF INDEX AI 3 .R49