HIST 6800: Atlantic World Slavery and the Transatlantic Slave Trade: Articles

This includes relevant magazines such as: Abolition Intelligencer and Missionary Magazine, The Abolitionist: or Record of the New England Anti - Slavery Society, American Anti - Slavery Reporter, The Anti - Slavery Examiner, The Anti - Slavery Record, Anti - Slavery Reporter, the National Era, and the Liberator.

The Emancipator Newsletter, published monthly in Jonesborough, Tennessee in 1820 by Elihu Embree, advocated the abolition of slavery. Embree, a Quaker, had established what is probably the country's first anti-slavery paper in 1819, the Manumission Intelligencer, of which only one copy exists. This was followed by the Emancipator.

HarpWeek is the electronic version of Harper's Weekly from the Civil War and Reconstruction eras, 1857-1871. HarpWeek includes all the pages of Harper's Weekly as scanned images, together with a series of indexes. Harper's Weekly was a leading national weekly during the second half of the nineteenth-century, providing information and insights on political, military and social issues and events prior to and during the Civil War. HarpWeek includes news, editorials, stories, illustrations, book reviews, serialized novels, advertising and maps from the weekly.

Free Internet site with browsable and searchable of six British magazines: Annual Register (1758-1778), Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine (1843-1863), Gentleman's Magazine (1731-1750), Notes and Queries (1849-1869), Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society (1757-1777), and The Builder (1843-1852)

A selection of Harper's Weekly stories on African Americans. The entire text of Harper's Weekly 1857-1871 is available in HarpWeek.

A database of ads from 18th & 19th century Virginia newspapers for runaway and captured enslaved people

This is a searchable database of advertisements published in the Southwestern Christian Advocate, a newspaper published in New Orleans. The ads are from people searching for friends and family members who were separated when they were slaves.

Full text primary sources from 18th and 19th century America, mainly newspapers. Includes African American newspapers from the 19th century, such as the Freedom's Journal, the Christian Recorder, the Colored American, the National Era, North Star, Weekly Advocate and the Frederick Douglass Paper. It also includes The Liberator and the National Anti-Slavery Standard: NOTE: This database is available to BGSU students, faculty, and staff and walk-in users.

This database contains millions of searchable newspaper pages from Ohio. Dates of coverage vary, but some newspapers are available back to 1800. Some newspapers have coverage for only a few years, while others have coverage for long spans. NOTE: This research database is available only to BGSU Faculty, Staff, and Students, and Walk-In Users.

Includes only scattered articles from African American newspapers and magazines published in Ohio 1843-1920.

The full text of approximately 270 U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states dating from 1827 to 1998 and published by African Americans. Pre-1865 newspapers include Freedom's Journal, Rights of All, Northern Star & Freeman's Advocate, Frederick Douglass' Paper, North Star, Aliened American, New Orleans Daily Creole, Mirror of the Times, L'Union, and New Orleans Tribune.

Digitized newspapers published in the United States. This searchable collection includes newspapers from 25 states, plus the District of Columbia, including some African-American newspapers. This site is maintained by the Library of Congress and is freely available on the Internet. Pre-1865 titles include Daily National Era (Washington, DC) 1854; National Era (Washington, DC) 1847-1860;

African American newspaper

African American newspaper

African American newspaper; this site includes only articles about Harriet Beecher Stowe and Uncle Tom's Cabin

A database of ads from 18th & 19th century Virginia newspapers for runaway and captured enslaved people

African American newspaper (this was the first African American owned and operated newspaper in the U.S.)

Antislavery newspaper.

A database of ads from 18th & 19th century Virginia newspapers for runaway and captured enslaved people

Religious and antislavery newspaper

Antislavery newspaper

The official newspaper of the British government. Also includes Edinburgh Gazette and Belfast Gazette.

Although the Internet Archive includes issues 1848-1864, almost all of the available issues are from 1860-1864.

African American newspaper

African American newspaper

The entire contents of the New York Times from the first issue in 1851 to three years ago

African American newspaper edited by Frederick Douglass; this site includes only a few issues

Antislavery newspaper

Articles about some of the events that led up to the Civil War, including John Brown's raid, the Nebraska Bill, and the Dred Scott case.

Antislavery newspaper.

Note: Palmer's Index to the (London) Times Newspaper 1790-1941 is at MAIN MICROFILM AI 21 .L4 Index. Annual Index to the Times (1906-present) is in the Index area at AI 21 .T46.

Newspaper articles from both the North and the South.