A Few Reference Books That May Be Useful
Reference books are useful for identifying people, places, events, dates, etc. Many articles in reference books include a bibliography of recommended sources. Here are just a few history reference books that may be useful.
A to Z of Revolutionary America by Call Number: REF E 209 .M356ISBN: 9780810853607Publication Date: 2007
Dictionary of British America, 1584-1783 by Call Number: REF E 188 .G34 2007ISBN: 9780230002289Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 by Call Number: REF E 185 .E545 2006 (also in Main Lib - 1st Floor)ISBN: 0195167775Publication Date: 2006- Encyclopedia of the North American Colonies byCall Number: REF E 45 .E53 1993 v.1-3ISBN: 0684192691Publication Date: 1993
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life in America by Call Number: REF E 169.1 .G7553 2009 v.1-4ISBN: 9780313336997Publication Date: 2008- Historical Dictionary of the American Revolution byCall Number: REF E 209 .M36 1999ISBN: 0810834049Publication Date: 1999-01-14
- Who Was Who During the American Revolution byCall Number: REF E 206 .W45xISBN: 0672522160Publication Date: 1976
Start Here To Search for Books
When you know the title of the item you are seeking, the first step is to search by title in an online catalog.
- BGSU Libraries CatalogIndexes books, magazines and journals, videos, music, and electronic resources that are owned by BGSU.
- OhioLINK Central CatalogIf BGSU doesn't own the book, try the OhioLINK Central Catalog. It contains the holdings of the libraries at more than 80 colleges and universities throughout Ohio. You can request OhioLINK books online and have them delivered in 2-4 days.
- WorldCatWorldCat is a database of the holdings of many libraries throughout North American and some other countries. If you identify a publication you want to borrow, you can use your Interlibrary Loan (ILL) account to request it.
Searching for E-Books
The library provides access to more than 55,000 books from a variety of sources. For information about ebooks, see:
A Few of the Bibliographies That May Be Useful
- Books About Early America: 2001 TitlesCall Number: Main Lib - 1st Floor E 188 .A82
- Books on Early America History and Culture, 1981-1985: An Annotated BibliographyCall Number: Main Lib - 1st Floor E 188 .I79 2004
- Books on Early American History and Culture 1991-1995: An Annotated BibliographyCall Number: Main Lib - 1st Floor E 188 .I79 2000
- Books on Early American History and Culture, 1951-1960: An Annotated BibliographyCall Number: Main Lib - 1st Floor E 188 .I789 2006
- Books on Early American History and Culture, 1971-1980: An Annotated BibliographyCall Number: Main Lib - 1st Floor E 188 .I79 2004
- Books on Early American History and Culture, 1986-1990: An Annotated BibliographyCall Number: Main Lib - 1st Floor E 188 .I788 2001
- Loyalist Literature: An Annotated Bibliographic Guide to Writings on the Loyalists of the American RevolutionCall Number: Main Lib - 8th Floor Z 1238 .A 43 1982
- Revolutionary America 1763-1789: A BibliographyCall Number: MAIN GOV DOCS LC 1.12/2:R 32/4/763-89/v.1-2
- Struggle for Empire: A Bibliography of the French and Indian WarCall Number: Main Lib - 8th Floor Z 1237 .L93 1986
- War of the American Revolution: Narrative, Chronology, and BibliographyCall Number: MAIN GOV DOCS D 114.2:AM 3/2004
View of the Bombardment of Ft. McHenry in 1814
Image provided by Wikimedia Commons.