Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 6210: Seminar in Early American History: Articles

A guide to BGSU Library resources that may be useful in studying early America.

Magazine Articles

American Periodicals Series Online, 1741-1900, 1741 - 1940's

Searchable database of full text articles from a wide variety of American periodicals published between 1741 and the mid 1940's (despite the dates in the title).  This a great place to find articles, illustrations, recipes, poems, ads, etc. published during 1741-1815. 

Internet Library of Early Journals

Free Internet site with browsable and searchable of six British magazines: Annual Register (1758-1778), Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine (1843-1863), Gentleman's Magazine (1731-1750), Notes and Queries (1849-1869), Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society (1757-1777), and The Builder (1843-1852)

 

Pre-1820 Newspapers in the Microform Collection at BGSU

Accessible Archives: Pre-1820 Newspapers

We have access to the following newspapers from the Accessible Archives database:

  • Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800
  • Virginia Gazette, 1736-1780

South Carolina newspapers 1732-1780:

  • South Carolina Gazette, 1732-1775
  • Gazette of the State of South-Carolina, 1777-1780
  • South Carolina Gazette & Country Journal, 1765-1775
  • South Carolina & American General Gazette, 1777-1780
  • Charlestown Gazette, 1778-1780

Other Sources of Pre-1820 Online Newspapers

Identifying Newspapers

You can identify newspapers that were published in a particular place at a particular time by using the historical U.S. newspaper directory at the Chronicling America web site.