Peer Reviewed or Scholarly FAQ
What are scholarly or peer reviewed articles?
Professors often require students to find scholarly and peer reviewed articles. These items:
- generally focus on scholarly research
- are written by experts in the field or discipline
- are critically reviewed by other experts before publication
- contain cited references to the information sources used
How do I find scholarly or peer reviewed articles?
Many of the library's databases contain scholarly or peer reviewed material and allow you to limit your search to include only these articles in the results. Use the advanced search feature in a database to find the option to limit to this type of search.
Finding Scholarly Articles in Journalism & Public Relations
- Communications and Mass Media CompleteThis is THE premier database for the study of journalism!!
Full Text News
- ProQuest Global NewsstreamAn online newspaper resource that includes international, national and regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowThe database formerly named LexisNexis Academic is now called Nexis Uni! Contains full-text newspapers, business information, and legal publications, including current news, company profiles, industry information, and federal and state laws and legislation. This is a great option for full text of some web published Atlantic Articles
- Newspaper SourceFull text for hundreds of regional, national, and international newspapers, and complete television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more.
