LibGuides: JOUR 2000: Journalism and Public Relations Writing: Current and Historical News Sources

Current and Historical Coverage

SUMMON limited to newspaper and magazines
Search all of BGSU's resources, filtered to only newspaper and magazine contents

ProQuest Global Newsstream
An online newspaper resource that includes international, national and regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Click on the "News" tab to access historical and current newspapers
1980s to present
Ethnic NewsWatch
A database that searches the full text of newspapers, magazines and journals published by the ethnic, minority and native press of the United States.
Newspaper Source
Full text for hundreds of regional, national, and international newspapers, and complete television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more.

New York Times
This page describes how to access the New York Times for research AND you can sign up for the New York Times app with your BGSU email for free through BGSU's subscription.

New York Times Historical
The entire contents of the New York Times from 1851 to three years ago.
History Commons
The Accessible Archives collection within History Commons includes text primary sources from 18th and 19th century America, mainly newspapers, including the Pennsylvania Gazette, the Virginia Gazette, Godey's Lady's Book, Frederick Douglass Paper, a collection of South Carolina Newspapers, and a collection of African American newspapers
African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
The full text of hundreds of U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states published by African Americans, dating from 1827 to 1998.
Coverage: 1827-1898
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search and view the full text of hundreds of digitized historical newspapers from 42 states, with titles dating from 1789-1963, provided free by the Library of Congress.
Detroit Free Press (1831-1922)
Full text for several newspaper titles published in Detroit between 1831 and 1922.
Cincinnati Enquirer (1872-1922)
Full text for several newspaper titles published in Cincinnati between 1872 and 1922.
American Periodicals Series Online
The full text of hundreds of American magazines, journals, and newspapers published between 1741 and 1900.
Coverage: 1741-1900