Learning Objectives
Students will be able to:
- identify intended purposes and audiences of sources found
- locate publications specific to their chosen discourse community
Recognize the audience and purpose of sources
Instructions for in-class activity
1. The links for today's activity take you to a description of an article published in trade publication or a scholarly journal. It includes a brief overview of the article, along with all of the details about where and when the article was published, who wrote it, and more.
2. Beneath the article title, click on "access now" box or "access options" dropdown box.
3. Read or skim the article in order to answer all of some the following guiding questions:
- Who is the author (or authors)? What are their credentials?
- What is the purpose of this source?
- Who is the intended audience for this source?
- How are the articles different from each other?
- How are they similar to each other?
Group 1, use these links:
Group 2, use these links:
Search for texts written by and for your discourse community
- Use EBSCO to find texts written by and for your discourse communityThis handout contains instructions for using the EBSCO databases to identify trade publications and academic journals written by and for your discourse community
- EBSCO Databases
Access to all of the EBSCO databases which the library subscribes to, including our most heavily-used database, Academic Search Complete. Browse a list of all EBSCO databases or use the link above to search them all at the same time. You can also connect to EBSCO then click on "Choose Databases" to link to specific EBSCO databases.
Tell us what you learned
- Tell us what you learnedWRIT 1110 Feedback for Professor Barry (Spring 2025)
