Research Guides: WRIT 1110: Seminar in Academic Writing: How to search for articles

How to talk to databases

Databases are one tool for searching for articles.

Databases are more structured than internet search engines, so they require an intentional search strategy.

In a search engine, your search terms can match words in the full text or the entire web site.
In a database, your search terms need to match words in the data that describe the article such as the article title, the journal title, and the abstract (overview) of the article, not necessarily the full text.

Thus, we recommend that you:

carefully select the key concepts from your research question and combine those as keywords to search in a database
use the worksheet labeled 'generating and combining keywords' below to brainstorm search terms

Generating and Combining Keywords
The front side of the worksheet contains an example, while the back side offers space to try with your own topic.

Academic Search Complete is a great starting place for WRIT 1110 students to look for sources because a variety of subject areas are included within it.

Academic Search Complete

A multidisciplinary, full-text database that includes scholarly journal articles on all subjects, as well as magazines, books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, and more.

Coverage: 1887 to present; most full text is 1975 to present.
Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyze, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein.

Many databases are specialized, meaning that they contain information about a specific subject area. For example, there are psychology databases that contain sources written by and for psychologists and psychology students.

Databases by Subject
To find a database within this list, first click on the subject or topic area you are interested in. This will take you to a list of databases that contain articles in your area of interest. Read the database descriptions, then select the database that best fits your needs.
Using the A-Z databases list
This video demonstrates how to use BGSU's alphabetical list of research databases

Filter by source type

In Academic Search Complete, you can use a filter to limit by "source types". Under the search box, select "all filters". Filters will appear on the right side of the page. For example, if you check the box next to "trade publications" the results list will contain only articles published in trade journals/magazines.