Library Account
If you are new to BGSU or haven't used University Libraries in a while, it would be a good idea to confirm that your library account is up-to-date! A current account is needed to request items through the OhioLINK catalog or to borrow items within the BGSU Libraries or other institutions.
If you need assistance, contact the Circulation Desk by phone 419-372-2051 or via email or chat.
Finding Books / Electronic Books
BGSU Libraries subscribe to significant e-book collections within the field of business. Search for e-books along with print publications in Library Search both available from the search box on the library home page.
You can also limit your search to just e-books by clicking on the drop-down menu to the right of the search box.
Visit the EBooks LibGuide for more information on accessing and using the electronic book collections available through the BGSU Libraries. It provides tips for navigating and downloading ebook content from the various ebook database platforms.
Selected E-Book Titles & Collections
-
Ebook Central (ebrary) This link opens in a new window
BGSU subscribes to two Ebook Central collections of electronic books - the Business & Economics and the Education collections - providing access to thousands of titles. Users can download chapters in pdf format or full books for a limited period in Adobe Digital Editions.
Best for: Business, economics, educationCompatible with: Tablet devices - iOS, Android (including Kindle FIRE) should install the BlueFire Reader app and authorize it with their ADE ID (email). Adobe Digital Editions software may be required for some books.
Contains: Business books (over 24,000), Education books (over 6,000), and selected books on other subjects. Features a robust interface that allows users to highlight passages, take notes, save favorites, create folders, and return to their customized content through a personal profile they create
Coverage: Mostly 2000 to present
Download: User account required. Chapters in PDF or a series of pages (max 99). Full book downloads; some limited. Adobe Digital Editions download and free login may be required. Tablet devices should use the browser to access collection and download book to the BlueFire Reader app with an authorized ADE ID. Learn more.
e-Book Central allows users to download chapters or entire books! You can either:- save a single chapter permanently as a pdf
- download an entire book for one or more days (may require the free Adobe Digital Editions software and BlueFire app)
You will see the download button when you are viewing a book in e-Book Central.
Once you choose to download an entire book, you will be prompted to sign in to your personal account. If you don't have one yet, create one by clicking on "Create an account."
Your download may expire after 1 or more days if the free software Adobe Digital Editions and, on a mobile device, an app called BlueFire are required.
If you do not have Adobe Digital Editions, download it for free by using the link in the download box to connect to the Adobe site. Adobe Digital Editions works with a variety of platforms, including the Nook and several iPad and Android apps, but cannot be used on a Kindle.
Limitations: Titles published by Ashgate and Rowman & Littlefield have a 'limited-user license' and allow 6 simultaneous users only. Some full book downloads expire after a limited time.
Link: https://libguides.bgsu.edu/ebookcent
Printing: Print current page, chapter, or series of pages - max 99
Timeout: A session will timeout automatically if left idle for 15 minutes.
Users: Many allow unlimited simultaneous users but some are limited to 5 (Ashgate books) or 6 (Rowman & Littlefield books) users at a time
BGSU has a number of titles purchased locally and by OhioLINK on the e-Book Central platform, and we also subscribe to two collections - the Business & Economics and the Education collections.Help with e-Book Central
Watch an e-book Central training video or visit ProQuest's e-Book Central LibGuide.
-
Wiley Online Library (Ebooks) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of full text books published by Wiley, covering many subjects, with a focus on STEM.
Coverage: Titles published since 2012
Users: Unlimited
Contains: Online editions of over 10,000 full-text books in a wide range of subject areas.
Best for: Sciences
Printing: Print individual chapters from PDF
Download: Individual chapters only for most texts
Compatible with: Any PDF compatible device/browser
-
O'Reilly Books Online This link opens in a new windowThe O'Reilly digital platform includes thousands of books, videos, proven learning paths, case studies, and audio books. Users have access to exclusive O’Reilly content as well as resources from hundreds of the world’s best known publishers. Topics include programming, IT networking, project management, graphic design, and business strategy. The platform also provides code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and more. The O'Reilly platform does not provide options for printing or downloading.
-
Business Book SummariesThis database from EBSCO provides summaries for business books and can be used to explore various books on a topic before checking them out.
Note that this database is available through Toledo Public Library. If you reside in Ohio, you can apply online for a digital library card to access this database.