Your Business Librarian
Chat With Us
Welcome
Welcome BGSU MBA Students!
Use this guide to discover library business resources and services relevant for students both on and off campus. If you have any questions about this guide or aspects of conducting library research or resources, do not hesitate to contact me (information is below, on the right). I am happy to talk on the phone or meet in person or via Zoom.
Support for Distance Students
With so many library resources available electronically, students who are not on campus have access to a virtually the exact same resources on-campus students do. Searching the online catalog allows you to search approximately 80% of library resources -- books, articles & more.
You can also request physical books to be mailed from campus to your house. You are only responsible for return shipping costs. Contact the circulation desk to get started: circkdesk@bgsu.edu or 419-372-2051.
Library Account
If you are new to BGSU or haven't used University Libraries in a while, it would be a good idea to confirm that your library account is up-to-date! A current account is needed to request items through the OhioLINK catalog or to borrow items within the BGSU Libraries or other institutions.
If you need assistance, contact the Circulation Desk by phone 419-372-2051 or via email or chat.
-
Library SearchSearch through the majority of BGSU Library's articles, books, and other resources with Library Search.
Core Business Resources
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Information on all topics in business, including full-text, scholarly journal articles, company information, and industry reports.
Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyze, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein -
EBSCO Business Searching Interface This link opens in a new window
The Business Searching Interface (BSI) is EBSCO's highly focused user interface created especially for the business searcher. Business Searching Interface provides an easy way to both browse and search for company profiles, industry information, country economic data, and market research.
Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyze, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein
-
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
A database of industry information. IBISWorld employs a team of dedicated expert analysts to research economic, demographic and government data, providing insight into Americas 700+ industries. Additional modules cover China Industry, Global Industry, and U.S. Specialized Industry.
-
MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
Company, industry and country information for US and global business. Includes in-depth analyst reports and statistics.
-
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Market research reports covering US and International markets with an emphasis on consumer products, lifestyles and industries. Reports combine data and analysis of the market environment and trends, market share, and consumer behavior and attitudes.
-
Sign Up for a Free Wall Street Journal account!You can sign up for a free account for the Wall Street Journal online edition with your BGSU email. Click on the above link to learn how.
Data & Statistics
These statistical reports from the U.S. Census provide a wealth of information about businesses in the United States, from demographics to financial information to the impact of external events.
-
Economic CensusThe Economic Census is the official five-year measure of businesses in the United States providing comprehensive statistics at the national, state, and local levels. It serves as the benchmark for current economic activity, such as the Gross Domestic Product and Producer Price Index.
-
County Business PatternsCounty Business Patterns (CBP) is an annual series that provides subnational economic data for establishments with paid employees by industry and employment size. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll.
-
Annual Business Survey (ABS) ProgramThe Annual Business Survey (ABS) provides information on selected economic and demographic characteristics for businesses and business owners by sex, ethnicity, race, and veteran status. Further, the survey measures research and development (for microbusinesses), new business topics such as innovation and technology, as well as other business characteristics.