Skip to main content
Historical U.S. Newspapers Online
Search this Guide
Historical U.S. Newspapers Online: T
A guide to historical U.S. newspapers that are freely available on the Internet.
ACollection: 19th Century Tennessee Newspapers
This searchable database is available only to residents of Tennessee.
ACollection: Chronicling America: Tennessee Newspapers
ACollection: Tennessee Baptist/Baptist and Reflector Digital Project 1835-2008
This Baptist newspaper was published in several places in Tennessee.
ACollection: TNGenWeb Historical News Portal
A map that links to sources of digitized newspapers from Tennessee
Chattanooga: Southern Worker 1930-1937
Official organ of the Communist Party of the U.S.A. The masthead of some issues says "Birmingham, AL" in an attempt to evade law enforcement.
Church Hill: Hawkins County Post 1968
Cleveland: Cleveland Banner 1872-1883
Elizabethton: Elizabethton Star 2004-2008
Jackson: Cardinal and Cream 1996 - present
Student newspaper from Union University
Kingsport: Daily Post News 1973
Kingsport: Kingsport Post 1963-1978
Kingsport: Post Daily News 1973-1974
Kingsport: Post Weekender 1967
Many newspapers in this file are titled Kingsport Post.
Kingsport: Sunday Post 1983
Knoxville: Daily Chronicle 1883-1884
This file is titled Sunday Chronicle and includes issues of that newspaper, published in Paterson, NJ, 1894-1900, 1902-1924.
Knoxville: Knoxville Daily Chronicle 1870-1873, 1885-1886
Knoxville: Knoxville Daily Chronicle 1885-1886
Listed in Google News Archive as Daily Chronicle Knoxville
Maryville: Highland Echo 1915-1987
Student newspaper from Maryville College
Maryville: Highland Echo 1915-1997
Student newspaper from Maryville College
Memphis: Commercial Appeal 1990-
Searching is free, but you must pay to retrieve the full text of an article.
Murfreesboro: Classic Union 1851-1852
Newspaper published by the faculty of Union University
Murfreesboro: Sidelines 1938-2011
Student newspaper from Middle Tennessee State University
Nashville: Baptist 1838-1839
Nashville: Confederate Veteran, 1893-1932
"Published Monthly in the Interest of Confederate Veterans and Kindred Topics"
Nashville: Confederate Veteran Index 1893-1932
Nashville: Fisk Herald 1887-1890
Newspaper published at Fisk University. This was the first student newspaper published at a Historically Black College or University.
Nashville: Ward-Belmont Hyphen 1915-1951
Student newspaper from Ward-Belmont School
Rogersville: Review 1814-2012
Includes issues of the Herald, published in Rogersville.
Sewanee: Student Newspapers 1872-
Copies of student newspapers from Sewanee: The University of the South. Newspapers include Sewanee Purple and predecessors
ACollection: Chronicling America: Texas Newspapers
ACollection: Digital Archives of Blanco County North and South Library Districts 1898-1981
Newspapers published in Johnson City, Blanco, Brackett, Blessing, etc.
ACollection: Digital Archives of the Andrews County Library 1876-2016
ACollection: Digital Archives of the Chambers County Library System 1917-2012
Newspapers published in Anahuac and Winnie
ACollection: Digital Archives of the Dilley Public Library 1961-2015
Newspapers published in Dilley and Pearsall
ACollection: Digital Archives of the Electra Public Library 1907-2014
Newspapers published in Harrold, Electra, and Wichita Falls. There are many years missing.
ACollection: Digital Archives of the Nesbitt Memorial Library 1980-2015
Newspapers published in Houston, Columbus, Eagle Lake, and Weimar
ACollection: Digital Archives of the Wichita Falls Public Library 1973-2016
Newspapers published in Wichita Falls and Grapevine
ACollection: Digital Archives of the XIT Museum 1901-2015
Although this includes newspapers from Dalhart and vicinity, there are many other kinds of resources in this database.
ACollection: Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press
English and Spanish language newspapers from Arizona, California, Texas, and Mexico. Includes several newspapers from El Paso.
ACollection: Portal to Texas History: Newspapers 1813-
ACollection: Texas Digital Newspaper Program
ACollection: Texas Tech University Newspapers 1920-
Newspapers from many cities.
ACollection: West Texas Digital Archive: Newspapers
Includes the Abilene Daily Reporter, Abilene Reporter, Abilene Semi-Weekly Farm Reporter, and the Abilene Semi-Weekly Reporter.
Arlington: Daily News Texas 1962-1963
Arlington: Hurst Daily News Texan, 1962
Arlington: Local Newspaper Transcriptions 1897-1940
Transcriptions of selected articles from the Arlington Journal and the Arlington Citizen. (Some years are missing)
Aspermont: Aspermont Star 1967, 1971, 1975
Aspermont: Stonewall County Courier 1985-1987, 1989, 1992, 1994, 2005-2009
Austin: Austin Sun 1976-1977
This file is titled Lyon County Reporter, but includes issues of newspapers from at least 6 states.
Austin: The Rag 1966-1967
Bay City: Matagorda Advocate 1996-2008
Baytown: Baytown Sun Index 1931 - present
This is only an index. There is no full text.
Baytown: Baytown Sun Index 1931-
This is only an index. It does not include the full text of articles.
Beeville: Digital Archives of the Joe Barnhart Bee County Library 1886-1976
Bonham: Bonham Daily Favorite 1911-1999
Bonham: Bonham Favorite 2000-2002
Bonham: Daily Favorite 1907-1910, 1997-1998
Buffalo: Buffalo Banner 1906
Burnet : Burnet Bulletin 2001-2009
Caddo Mills: Caddo Mills News 1913
Cameron: Cameron Herald 1895-1918
Camp Ford: Old Flag 1864
Published by Union prisoners at Camp Ford, Tyler, Texas
Canyon Lake: Bulverde Standard 2005-2009
Childress: Childress Index 1913-1918
Clarendon : Clarendon Enterprise 2006-2009
Corsicana: Corsicana Daily Sun 1909-1977
Crane: Digital Archves of the Crane County Public Library 1964-2013
Dallas: Dallas Voice 2004-2012
Dallas: Southern Methodist University Student Newspapers 1915-1931
Student newspapers from Southern Methodist University
East Bernard: East Bernard Express 2006-2009
Edgewood: Edgewood Enterprise 1979-1980, 1983, 1985, 1996, 1999, 2001-2009
Fort Worth: Daily Fort Worth Standard 1876-1877
Ganado: Jackson County Independent 1913
Grand Saline : Grand Saline Sun 1981, 1986, 1990-1997, 2005-2009
Groesbeck: Groesbeck Journal 2001-2006
Harlingen: Digital Archives of the Harlingen Public Library 1901, 1926-1976
Harper: Harper Herald 1928-1997
Henrietta: Clay County Leader 2006-2009
Hurst: Mid-Cities Daily News 1966-1985
Hurst: Mid-Cities News Texan 1963-1966
Hurst: News Texan 1963
Kyle: Kyle News 1926-1949
La Marque: La Marque Times 1921-1998
Malakoff: Malakoff News 1937-1991, 2001, 2005-2009
There are quite a few missing years within these date ranges.
Munday: Munday Courier 1975-1988, 1991, 1998, 2001-2009
Munday: Munday Times 1965-1966
Panola: Panola Watchman 1879-1961
Pittsburg: Digital Archives of the Pittsburg-Camp County Public Library 1882-1988
Quitman: Wood County Democrat 1916-1922, 1924-1925, 1927, 1934-1937, 1943-2004
Rochester: Twin Cities News 2005-2009
Rockdale: Rockdale Messenger 1876-1905
Saginaw: Digital Archives of the John Ed Keeter Public Library 1976-1989, 2008-2009
San Antonio: Trinitonian 1912 - present
Student newspaper from Trinity College
Spearman: Hansford County Reporter-Statesman 2007-2009
Tatum: Trammel Trace Tribune 2002-2009
Taylor: Taylor Daily Democrat 1913
Thorndale: Thorndale Champion 1918
Thorndale: Thorndale Thorn 1902-1907
There are a number of issues of the Meade County Messenger at the beginning of the first file of this newspaper. After those issues, the Thorndale Thorn begins.
Tulia: Digital Archives of Swisher County Public Library 1963-2015
Victoria: Victoria Advocate 1848, 1850-1851, 1875-1880, 1885-2009
Wellington: Collingsworth Public Library Newspaper Archives 1909-2008
Whitney: Lakelander 2005-2009
Wichita Falls: Wichita Dailly Times 1911-1923
Mar 24, 2017 11:53 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
News & Current Events
Use this guide in Canvas
Linking from a page
Either add a new page, or edit an existing page.
Enter and then select the text that will be linked.
“Link to URL” button in toolbar.
Paste the following URL into the dialog, and “Insert Link”:
Make sure you save your changes.
Embedding in a module
Either create or choose a module, and press the
“Add Content” button next to it.
Choose “External URL” from the “Add to Test Module” dropdown.
Paste the following URL into the “URL” field:
Specify the “Page Name”.
Press the “Add Item” button.
Remember to publish your changes.