Skip to main content
Historical U.S. Newspapers Online
Search this Guide
Historical U.S. Newspapers Online: S
A guide to historical U.S. newspapers that are freely available on the Internet.
South Carolina Newspapers
ACollection: Chronicling America: South Carolina Newspapers
ACollection: News and Obituary Index
The items in this index were chosen by staff members of the York County Library as articles of local interest. In general, the entries are index only and do not include the full text of the articles.
ACollection: Newspaper Article, Manuscript, and Church History Database 1930s-1970s
A database of newspaper clippings that were collected by the Rock Hill Public Library staff. The articles were taken from The Herald, The State, and the Charlotte Observer.
ACollection: South Carolina Digital Library: Clippings
Newspaper clippings, mostly about South Carolina, although the clippings come from a variety of newspapers.
Charleston: Charleston Mercury 1818, 1823-1868
Charleston: South Carolina Weekly Gazette Indices 1783-1785
This is only an index and does not include the full text of the articles. Most of the items indexed are marriage and death notices, but the database does include some other articles of local interest.
Charleston: Times 1801-1805, 1807-1813, 1815-1821
Columbia: Columbia Daily Register 1877-1887
Columbia: Columbian Herald 1787-1790
Columbia: Columbia Register 1875
Columbia: Columbia Star 2005-2009
Columbia: Gamecock 1908-1988
Student newspaper of the University of South Carolina.
Conway: Horry Independent 1999-2000, 2005-2009
Georgetown: Georgetown County Historical Newspapers 1800-1899
Georgetown: Georgetown County Newspapers - 20th Century 1902-1999
Georgetown: Georgetown Gazette 1801, 1806-1807, 1810
Greenville: Fruman Student Newspapers 1916-1961
Student newspapers from Furman University. This site will include issues published 1916-1961, but may not be complete yet.
Greenville: INNEWS search 1988-
A searchable index to articles from Greenville newspapers. This is only an index and does not include the full text of the articles.
Loris: Loris Scene 1998, 2000-2003, 2006-2009
Loris: Loris Sentinel 1950, 1953, 1956-1959
Loris: Loris Sentinel 1950-1959
This file is titled the Horry County News and the Loris Sentinel.
Newberry: Newberry Observer 1889-1898, 1930-1997, 1999-2004
Newberry: Observer 1899-1929
Port Royal & Beaufort: New South Newspaper 1862-1866
Spartanburg: Spartanburg Herald 1875-1880
Spartanburg: Spartanburg Herald 1875-1880, 1905-2008
Some issues are titled the Spartanburg Herald-Journal and some are the Herald-Journal.
Spartanburg: Spartanburg Weekly Herald 1905-1908
Sumter: Item 1987-2008
Sumter: Sumter Daily Item 1960-1987
Walterboro: Press and Standard 1873-
This is only an index. It doesn't include the full text of the articles.
Winnsboro: Fairfield Independent 1797-1982
Winnsboro: Herald Independent 1982-2008
South Dakota Newspapers
A Collection: Chronicling America: South Dakota Newspapers
Burke: Burke Gazette 2005-2009
Canistota: Canistota Clipper 1962-1965, 2009-
Canistota: Canistota Clipper 1964-1965, 2006-2009
Canova: Canova Herald 2006-2007
Deadwood: Deadwood Historical Newspapers Index 1895-1905
This is only an index. There is no full text.
Freeman: Freeman Courier 1905-1909, 1915-1920, 1937, 1940-1947, 1952-1957, 2008-
Freeman: Freeman Courier 2006-2008
Freeman: Freeman South Dakota Courier 2006-2008
Humboldt: Hartford Area News 1980-1982, 2009-
Humboldt: Humboldt Journal 1983-1985, 2006-2009
Humboldt: Humboldt Journal 1983-1985, 2009-
Isabel: Isabel Dakotan 1954, 1962, 1968, 1970, 2009
Isabel: Isabel Dakotan 2006-2009
Marion: Marion Record 1981-1982, 1994-1995, 2009-
Marion: Marion Record 2006-2009
Menno: Hutchinson Herald 1892, 1902, 1912, 1925, 1934, 1970, 2008-
Menno: Hutchinson Herald 2006-2009
Montrose: Montrose Herald 1943-1946, 2009-
Montrose: Montrose Herald 1943-1946, 2006-2009
Parker: New Era 1899-1901, 1910-1911, 2002-2008
Parker: New Era 1928-1931, 1940-1941, 1950-1951, 1958-1961, 1968-1969, 1978-1979, 1988-1989, 1998-1999, 2009-
Wilmot: Wilmot Enterprise 1915, 1923-1924, 1933, 149, 2002-2004, 2009-
Woonsocket: Sanborn Weekly Journal 1946, 1954, 1962, 2009
Woonsocket: Sanborn Weekly Journal 2006-2008
Woonsocket: Woonsocket News 1952, 1958, 1966, 1978, 1980, 2008-2009
The most recent issues are titled the Sanborn Weekly Journal.
Feb 22, 2017 2:10 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
News & Current Events
Use this guide in Canvas
Linking from a page
Either add a new page, or edit an existing page.
Enter and then select the text that will be linked.
“Link to URL” button in toolbar.
Paste the following URL into the dialog, and “Insert Link”:
Make sure you save your changes.
Embedding in a module
Either create or choose a module, and press the
“Add Content” button next to it.
Choose “External URL” from the “Add to Test Module” dropdown.
Paste the following URL into the “URL” field:
Specify the “Page Name”.
Press the “Add Item” button.
Remember to publish your changes.